User Reviews Overview

About WebCheckout

WebCheckout is a fixed asset management solution designed to help businesses in higher education, broadcast, production and other industries track equipment, schedule staff members, handle inventory items and more. It maintains...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.5

Browse WebCheckout Reviews

55 of 55 reviews
Sort by:
Aaron G. Aaron G.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/03/2020

WebCheckout saves you time and money!

We moved to WebCheckout after using a paper-based rental solution for over 40 years. Our inventory count has become accurate. We're now able to run monthly, weekly, or even daily usage reports without having to manually count paper slips.

Pros

WebCheckout provides the ability to track every piece of gear in our inventory. We can monitor the usage of our production suites as well. Being able to run real-time usage reports helps to put budget towards higher used areas and gear. Dashboard screens allow workers to pre-pick pending orders and prepare for the return of large rentals.

Cons

We have no complaints with this software.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Aaron,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to hear WebCheckout has been working so well for your team. If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to [email protected] we're always happy to help.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Thank you,

Brittany W.

Replied 28/04/2020
John L. John L.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 06/04/2020

The equipment loan management solution you've been looking for...

WebCheckout is one of the best - and only - solutions that met our needs with the computers, cameras, and other technology equipment we loan out. While it is on the more expensive side, you get what you pay for...and more. There is strong support from the vendor, and an active listserv with other users.

Pros

We needed a solution that would allow us to manage our loan equipment without having to micromanage every single checkout. WebCheckout allowed us to do this - we are able to have a default loan duration set, automatic notifications for check-outs, check-ins, and overdue loans, and to place holds on our users when they violate the equipment loan policy they agree to prior to borrowing any equipment.

Cons

There are many features - almost too many. The system can be a bit overwhelming, but there are a lot of resources in the WebCheckout knowledge base.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi John,
Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to providing attentive customer service and know that your input helps us improve Webcheckout. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns and feature requests.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

Replied 27/04/2020
Donald H. Donald H.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2020

Webcheckout Success

Results have been excellent. It has made the operation function smoothly.

Pros

This software has facilitated inventory maintenance of multiple pieces of audio and video equipment which is checked out in a library fashion to students at the university. I allows them to reserve in advance which facilitates the checkout as their needs can be prepared in advance with a check list of the order. Other units on the campus are also using the software for similar needs. The Software is adaptable to a number of functions.

Cons

We have not had any problems with the software, customer support has been excellent and we have been able to use for a variety of functions across the campus.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Donald,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to providing attentive customer service and are happy when customers feel the same. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns and feature requests.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

Replied 27/04/2020

Top WebCheckout Alternatives

Michael H. Michael H.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/03/2020

Constant Evolution

Superb!
I will generally approach WCO support with an issue before reaching out to my institution's IT department. Since my department started using WCO, we've implemented multiple organizations and checkout centres within our instance. We couldn't be happier with the product.

Pros

The development and support teams are continually improving the functionality and user experience. There's a robust user-community sharing ideas and providing feedback not only with support staff but also with each other. It really feels like WebCheckout listens to us and is invested in us. Almost all updates improve performance, but when they don't, issues are quickly addressed.

Cons

Multitasking capability is limited. I am forever opening allocations/patrons/resources in new tabs to fine-tune, edit, and schedule. While this generally works well with two or three tabs, browser pages sometimes refresh and change the content in other tabs.

Response from WebCheckout

Michael, Thank you for leaving a review and shout out to the support team! We are always on the look out for ways to improve client support and application improvements. Please reach out with a time you are available to discuss making the user experience more efficient, [email protected] We look forward to continue working with you. Holly V.
Customer Care

Replied 30/04/2020
Eric K. Eric K.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/04/2020

WCO Gets A++

I may not be the best person to review this software, as not has it been our ONLY inventory management system, we are still running an outdated version from more than two years ago. But that version still works and does almost everything we need it to.

Pros

Customer Service is top notch! The ease of export/import of data makes managing the system, even offline, a breeze. The use of barcodes makes checking in/out items a snap.

Cons

I cannot answer this honestly as we are still running version 4.4.1 and haven't had the chance to try anything more current. From what I can tell the features offered in newer versions are everything we could have requested and more.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Eric,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to see that you've enjoyed working with our support team and that WebCheckout is working so well for you. We are committed to continuously add value to WebCheckout and its suite of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any questions or concerns.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Brittany W.

Replied 28/04/2020
Carissa A. Carissa A.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2020

REview

great! very esay to use and maintain

Pros

It is VERY easy to track an individual piece of gear amongst many users. Very helpful when I am trying to riddle out damage linked to usage.

Also helpful to track the amount of total time linked to a high demand piece of gear as a way to demonstrate increase need.

Cons

I would very much like to see a way of the system reminding me as for upcoming reservations. Right now, for professors reserving for the entire semester I input their reservations into my personal calendar on my phone with 2x reminders. It would . be great if the reservations could be linked to my personal claendar and personal phone(if wanted) at the time the reservation is made

Response from WebCheckout

Carissa, Thank you for your review. We are always happy to hear that WebCheckout is easy to use and keep up. Checkout Center Calendars is already a feature in WebCheckout. Our team is always looking to improve user experience, please contact [email protected] and we will be happy to help you out. Thank you for your time and continued support.
Holly V.
Customer Care

Replied 30/04/2020
Michael S. Michael S.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/04/2020

Webcheckout Review

We have had minimal interruptions of service so its been positive.

Pros

A lot of flexibility for our needs in A/V checkout. Good customer support.

Cons

price

overall the product has worked well

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Michael,

Thanks for your time and positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that WebCheckout provides the flexibility and support you need to manage your AV checkouts.

We continue to improve the features and function of WebCheckout with each release, as well as invest in systems to protect confidentiality, availability and integrity of our customer data. At your convenience, please reach out to [email protected] to schedule your upgrade to the latest version. There are countless features your teams can take advantage of by upgrading.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Best,

Jeannie C.
Customer Care Team

Replied 07/05/2020
Michelle W. Michelle W.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/03/2020

WebCheckout Features

Pros

WebCheckout is easy to use and full featured software. We utilize it to track our loaner equipment. It makes it easy to do inventory, track what is late, and has great audit capability as to who completed which tasks.

Cons

I do appreciate that features and bug fixes are always being added. It would be helpful when a new version goes live that it is certified for all current browser versions.

Response from WebCheckout

Michelle, Thank you so much for posting a review. Our Team is always on the look out for ways to improve the application and user experience. WebCheckout's Release Notes include up-to-date browser versions tested on before each release, if you are experiencing any issues please reach out to [email protected] We look forward to continuing and strengthening our relationship with you.
Holly V.
Customer Care

Replied 30/04/2020
Marc S. Marc S.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2020

WebCheckout was a game changer for us

At the time, our processes and procedures were generic databases that we had internally customized. WebCheckout increased our throughput and efficiency. Love it.

Pros

The features offered by this software fit our needs perfectly.

Cons

Hard to find a negative about WebCheckout.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Marc,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to providing attentive customer service and are happy when customers feel the same. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns and feature requests.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

Replied 27/04/2020
Arthur F. Arthur F.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/04/2020

Webcheckout

It makes it very easy to handle large amounts of student equipment needs

Pros

the ability to add more information as needed, quickly

Cons

SOme parts of the interface needed updating but it has been addressed

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Arthur,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to providing attentive customer service and appreciate your insight in how to best update Webcheckout. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns and feature requests.
Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

Replied 27/04/2020
Don H. Don H.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2020

A great tool for anyone who needs to manage asset checkouts, room reservations, and inventory

My experience with the solution has been very positive. I would gladly recommend it to anyone with similar needs and be confident they are getting a solid, professional product with strong customer service.

Pros

Once you get past the initial learning curve, the software is very fast and easy to use. It offers a simple, intuitive web browser based interface for clients to reserve equipment and monitor the status of their checkouts. On the admin side there are powerful tools for authorizing which clients can see and access what items or rooms. Their customer support is fantastic and they really listen to and implement feature suggestions.

Cons

On the admin side, it does have a significant learning curve as there are many ways to customize it. However, their support is always ready to help. You will want to give yourself a few months to get up to speed on it and consider getting some training.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Don,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to hear you have had such a positive experience with WebCheckout and our support team. We are committed to continuously improving WebCheckout and its suite of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns, questions, or to review some of these features.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Brittany W.

Replied 28/04/2020
Dan O. Dan O.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/12/2020

Keep Track of Your Equipment

Overall my experience has been positive. The software was a little 'clunky' in comparison to others when I started using it 6+ years ago, but it has undergone a ton of changes. During Covid-19 they adapted it a bunch of times to help all of their users to adjust their workflows. They even held online townhalls to talk to users, have demos and get feedback.

Pros

You simply can't keep track of equipment and all the transactions with patrons/users without some form of tracking. WebCheckout keeps track of all the daily equipment transactions - checkouts and returns. Plus it keeps a ton of data on each piece of equipment - order date, invoice #, budget #, model, serial #, room # where it lives, shelf location, etc, etc... Plus it has usage data and assesses fines if you need them to encourage returns. Very customizable software.

Cons

There are definitely time where it takes me a while to figure out where certain information is. Luckily they have good built in documentation that you can search for answers. And if that fails email or call customer service, they are always responsive.

Rachelle E. Rachelle E.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 06/04/2020

A big improvement for us!

Appreciate above board customer service! They are continuously improving the system and are open to suggestions and making it work for our needs. Very easy to use!

Pros

I appreciate the web based system being easy to use which allows us to train our technicians quickly.

Cons

Ability to edit for specific needs in each checkout center or at least having the option to turn off certain aspects we don't use that cause confusion for end users. I will note that this is being worked on. And sometimes updates happen that don't benefit us and we cannot revert back.

Response from WebCheckout

Rachelle, Thank you for the kind words! Our Team is always on the look out for ways to improve client support and application improvements. Your account manager will reach out to you for more information on how we can improve the application to better meet you needs. As always, please contact [email protected] with any questions or concerns. We look forward to continuing and strengthening our relationship with you.
Holly V.
Customer Care

Replied 30/04/2020
Ryan B. Ryan B.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/03/2020

WebCheckout Feedback

Pros

WebCheckout gives us the functionality we need to properly manage a large volume of equipment and rooms in our portable equipment checkout center and the building as a whole. I use this software daily along with a staff of about 40 student employees and other full time staff. It helps us streamline checkouts and manage a large amount of resources.

Cons

We have had technical issues with some reservations getting caught in an improper state of checkout and being auto cancelled repeatedly. This has improved recently but has been a frustrating occurrence. Technical support has been responsive in dealing with the issues each time but it was frustrating that it was occurring daily for a long time before it finally settled down.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Ryan-

Thanks for your time and feedback. And thank you especially for your patience and understanding as we worked through the allocation state schedule issue. We sincerely regret the inconvenience it caused you and your affected patrons. With the fix to this issue featured in v9.0, we are optimistic you will no longer experience this pesky allocation issue.

Thank you again for your patience and continued support.

Best,

Jeannie C.
Customer Care Team

Replied 07/05/2020
Beth M. Beth M.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2020

Great inventory, reservation, and checkout system

I was on the team that researched other products and chose Webcheckout for our school almost 10 years ago.

Pros

Webcheckout is a robust system that does an outstanding job managing a large inventory of equipment. We selected Webcheckout for its ability to reliably handle reservations and checkouts, and also track overdues and patron fines.

Cons

The patron portal has gotten better over the years but still needs some enhancement.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Beth,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to continuously add value to WebCheckout and its suites of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. I hope you will not mind that I will be following up with you directly to get more of your thoughts on what improvements you'd like to see in Patron Portal. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any WebCheckout concerns and feature requests.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

Replied 27/04/2020
Romeo B. Romeo B.
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 13/04/2020

Romeo's experience

Overall the software has been excellent, though recent changes are concerning.

Pros

Straight forward for Operators. Regular updates and improvements.

Cons

Updates that take functionality away that can only be restored by purchasing new modules.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Romeo,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. I'm glad to hear that you've found WebCheckout straight forward to use and that you have enjoyed our continuous improvement. We are committed to continuously adding value to WebCheckout and its suite of modules, and we want to ensure customers feel the same. If you have any questions or concerns, especially about functionality, please reach out to [email protected] and we'd be happy to help.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Brittany W.

Replied 04/05/2020
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2020

WebCheckout is the only way to go

Great software with a responsive and helpful support system, not to mention the many users worldwide who actively participate in the user forum.

Pros

Easily handles thousands of unique pieces of equipment as well as spaces. Fairly simple user interface. Easily adaptable to each locations particular needs.

Cons

The initial set up was a little rough and took some time to understand. However, Webcheckout support was readily available and very helpful.

Response from WebCheckout

Thank you for leaving a review, your thoughtful feedback and praise for our support team! Our Team is always looking for how we improve WebCheckout's user experience. Please contact [email protected] with any suggestions or questions.
Holly V.
Customer Care

Replied 30/04/2020
Wielder C. Wielder C.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/04/2020

Webcheckout management

The response of the support team is very quick every time we have an issue with the system. If you would like to use its full feature, the administrator should have an adequate understanding of the system.

Pros

You can do a lot of things with Webcheckout because of its features.

Cons

Because of its features and configurations, you can do with it, the level of complexity becomes higher. It requires the administrator to be technically savvy.

Response from WebCheckout

Wielder, Thank you so much for posting a review. I am glad to hear you have had such a positive experience with WebCheckout and our support team. We are always on the look out for ways to improve client support and application improvements. Please feel free to contact [email protected] with any questions or suggestion.

AJ O. -Customer Care Team

Replied 30/04/2020
Clayton A. Clayton A.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/08/2020

An excellent inventory manager.

It is an excellent overall experience. With WebCheckout, we are ready to effortlessly oversee all of our stock and check them out to other understudies and workforce. A tremendous advantage is being able to check a patron’s checkout history and effectively recognize the number of checkouts and the time their things are due back.

Pros

I like that we are ready to effortlessly distinguish a understudy from their title or understudy id and see what things they have checked out at any time.

Cons

I detest a few of the error messages given after endeavoring to checkout some inventory. The error messages may be a touch more particular and specific.

Max A. Max A.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

2
Reviewed on 01/04/2020

WebCheckout could change your life

It's exactly what they say it is

Pros

This may be the only software available that is adaptable among many departments in a single institution, and does a good job managing assets and people

Cons

upgrading requires an entire data reboot, is non transferable
other coded asset managing tools have better inventory options

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Max-

Thanks for your time and feedback. We are pleased to hear WebCheckout is flexible to meet the needs of many departments.

We have made significant improvements to the application including the upgrade process and inventory tools since v4.2.2 which was released in 2015. While upgrades still require scheduling the downtime with our Support team and a restart of the application, WebCheckout features a patch mechanism where you can deploy bug fixes and improvements within the application and without scheduling with our Support team.

Additionally, the Mobile Inventory App module offers an organized and simple solution to perform regularly scheduled inventory.

We are currently in contact with an administrator at MassArt to upgrade WebCheckout to v9.0, and provide the team training on these improvements and features.

If you have any concerns or questions, please feel free to reach out.

Hope you're well.

Jeannie C
Customer Care Team

Replied 01/05/2020
Ellen D. Ellen D.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2015

In my opinion if your staff can read, they can use this software.

I have been with WCO since 2002. There have many versions and improvements throughout those years. There is some training involved for your staff, but mostly to explain your institutional policies. I always tell my staff that reading is mandatory. There are prompts to tell them what to do next and there are prompts/errors to tell them what they need to do to confirm a reservation.
There is more involved of course for administrators, but I find the Webcheckout Training to be very informative and they will work directly with you to tailor the training to your needs.
There are and will be hic-ups and glitches along the way, but the support staff is very quick to respond to and emergency message and get you back in business.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Ellen,

Thank you for your time and feedback, and providing advice to those who read your comments.

Through our evolution, you have been consistently positive, encouraging, and supportive. We enjoyed working with you and hope retirement is treating you well.

Best,

Jeannie C.
Customer Care Team

Replied 07/05/2020
Laura T. Laura T.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/10/2015

5 years of using WebCheckout and I couldn't be happier with the product

WebCheckout has great features for a number of applications, is easy to use, has quick and attentive customer service & tech support, flexible training options, and a modular system that allows the user to customize the system to suit their organization's needs.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Laura,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to providing attentive customer service and are happy when customers feel the same. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns and feature requests.

Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

Replied 27/04/2020
Asa K. Asa K.
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 01/04/2020

WebCheckout in Media Education

Our old loan inventory system was being decommissioned, so we had to find something new. Web Checkout filled all our needs and more. It has been an incredible improvement over our previous workflows.

Pros

Web Checkout is highly customizable, easy to use, entirely web based, and integrates with our existing Active Directory, Student Information System, user ID cards, and equipment barcodes. The best functions are the automated email reminders and flexible permission rules.

Cons

Initial setup of the integration was a bit tedious, but once it was setup it makes daily processes a breeze.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Asa,

Thank you for your time and thoughtful feedback. We are committed to providing attentive customer service and appreciate insight into how to make our processes easier. As always, please feel free to reach out to us at [email protected] with any concerns and feature requests.
Thanks again for your time, and we appreciate your continued support.

Best,

AJ O.
Customer Care Team

Replied 27/04/2020
Rifah O. Rifah O.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 27/03/2020

Helpful but Not User Friendly

Pros

I like that it helps us keep track of our events and checkouts so that we don't lose equipment. Overall, it offers a lot of flexibility especially with being able to write notes on reservations, checkouts, and equipment.

Cons

I wish the dashboard would stick without having to reset it up daily with my preferences. I also wish the dashboard view was more integrated into the main checkout page instead of its own page. I wish this system was more user friendly or they offered tutorial videos. I have a large rotating staff of student workers that I have to train and retrain on the various aspects of Webcheckout. I have had to create my own documentation on how to use it and still come across issues where things don't go right if a student worker misses a step. The system is not intuitive at all and needs to be taught and learned. There needs to be a way to delete equipment for good. I would also like an easy way to track our events vs. just our regular checkouts or scheduled tasks so I could pull reports on it. The set, strike, show isn't cutting it for us.

Response from WebCheckout

Hi Rifah, thanks for your time and feedback. We're pleased to know that WebCheckout aids in keeping track of your equipment.

The Dashboard now persists, so once you set it up, the information is readily available for the next time you login. This improvement was made after your request in our 2019 User Training. We also provided SXU with the Task Module to better track event details, a part from regular checkout/reservation information.

As we continue to improve and add to WebCheckout's countless features, we understand this can make training an every changing staff difficult to manage. We do update our online documentation, and will continue to host webinars to highlight new features of each release. Additionally, we do offer training services to take the burden of training off of the administrative team.

If we can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to reach out to your account manager.

We hope you're well.

Jeannie C
Customer Care Team

Replied 01/05/2020
Frank F. Frank F.
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2020

Industry Standard, (but...)

I have worked with Webcheckout for over 10 years. It has been the industry standard the whole time, and meets the need for most users. As an admin it takes a "programmer's head" to get used to, but that's just part of the territory. It's so powerful and can do so much, that it's going to be complex, and they do their best to keep it as simple as possible. Phone support is extremely responsive and capable.

Pros

The software does it all...especially now after well over a decade of upgrades and user feedback. The customer service is the best,

Cons

The software in places seems to have no input from designers. New users should expect good amount of training and "getting used to it" through practice. Things like calendar input can seem clunky, and not the same across the board. A streamlined mobile app interface would be nice (maybe it's extra money), and bar-code scanning isn't mac friendly.

Alternatives Considered

Claris FileMaker

Reasons for Choosing WebCheckout

Needed more robust and professional software.

Reasons for Switching to WebCheckout

Webcheckout is the industry standard, used by many schools/colleges/libraries.

Response from WebCheckout

Thank you for your comments and praise for our support team, Frank! Please contact [email protected] to help work out any issues, including barcode scanning, and to let us know of any application improvements to better your experience with WebCheckout.
Holly V.
Customer Care

Replied 30/04/2020
55 reviews