MarginEdge Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews

4.6
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About MarginEdge

MarginEdge is a restaurant management software that uses POS integration and invoice data to show you your food and labor costs in real-time, so you can make impactful decisions in the moment. MarginEdge helps restaurants of...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

All MarginEdge Reviews Apply filters

Filter by:
Sort by:
47 reviews

Browse MarginEdge Reviews

47 of 47 reviews
Sort by:
Max
Max
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2020

Great Comprehensive Restaurant Management Tool

Pros

One-stop shopping for most numbers-based needs for the group. Really helped streamline digitizing invoicing, which added products, which we were then able to build inventories on. Terrific customer support if any hitches.

Cons

Most 'missing' features in the past have been added.

Greg
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/08/2019

Count me a Fan!

Exceptional, the Margin Edge team has leaped through hoops to help my team become more efficient. The tools this software provides are PERFECT in so many ways. Not only do we pay more attention to the daily spend, but we track it against budgets in live time. The experience has translated to more bottom line dollars -

Pros

Record Retention - before Margin Edge came along, we saved every piece of paper - not any more. This tool was also extremely useful in managing the spend through the month, the category and profit loss tools are excellent bell-weathers for operations

Cons

In our case, our units are independent in terms of menu, so gathering group information has some steps that could be alleviated - I believe this is being worked upon for next version. There were a few other minor issues which the Margin Edge Team was so helpful in teaching my staff how to handle and view their

Dana
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

2
Reviewed on 11/08/2023

Margin Edge Review

Pros

I like the ability to pay bills through Margin Edge. Inter company ordering

Cons

I have had trouble with the amount of time it takes for payments to reach Vendor's. Also tracking credits is not easy. In addition to having a major problem with some electronic payments.

Response from MarginEdge

Hi Dana, first off we want to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and giving us your honest feedback. We really appreciate any information you have on your experience using MarginEdge. We are bummed to hear you are having trouble with payments in the software and are taking your comments to heart. We will pass your feedback along to our Customer Support and Payments teams to see how we can improve on these issues, and someone will be reaching out. Again, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

Replied 04/09/2023

Top MarginEdge Alternatives

PAR Data Central

0

Optimum Control

Ryan
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/08/2019

Ease of use, less data entry

Margin Edge's unique combination of offerings allows for simplification of in-store restaurant operations and the administrative management.

Pros

Margin Edge combines an easy to use inventory and COGS platform, a kitchen recipe viewer, and a data entry service. Our managers really appreciate the additional time they are able to spend on the floor instead of in the office entering invoices. I find the team at Margin Edge extremely open to feedback about the product and very responsive to support emails. From an administration standpoint, the software is user friendly and direct. The removal of the duplicate maintenance of two recipe databases (one for kitchen viewing and one for target costing) has significantly lowered the number of hours required to run our business.

Cons

The system is still new, so there are some features that competitors have developed which are still being developed for margin edge.

Alternatives Considered

PAR Data Central

Reasons for Choosing MarginEdge

We needed a more reliable system.

Reasons for Switching to MarginEdge

The unique combination of data entry and ability to streamline our administrative tasks by housing recipes for target costing and kitchen view in one database.
Matt
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/03/2023

Margin Edge Drives our Profitability

Customer-service and margin edge product itself proven to be one of the best decisions we’ve made in our decade long restaurant journey. We are so thankful for what they have done for us.

Pros

MarginEdge makes it so simple and intuitive to manage your restaurant. Having immediate access to invoices purchase orders recipes, and sales information is critical in MarginEdge over delivers in both customer service, and helping us manage profitability on a day by day basis.

Cons

There are no cons w Margin Edge. The time you spend setting it up has paybacks that are greater than you could ever imagine.

Alternatives Considered

NorthStar

Reasons for Choosing MarginEdge

Ease of use. The capturing of line item detail (without entry). This speeds up the process, the reliability and ultimately our decision making, which is why this product is so critical for our profitability.

Reasons for Switching to MarginEdge

Ease-of-use and their recipe viewer product

Response from MarginEdge

Matt, wow! Thank you so much for your review - we are beyond thrilled to hear we're hitting all the marks for you and your team. Hearing your success story, and the part we've been able to play, is precisely why we do what we do. Please keep the feedback coming as our partnership continues, we're committed to constantly improving the product and your experience. Thanks again!

Replied 05/04/2023
Angie
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2023

Margin Edge gave me hours back in my week

Margin Edge has been great to work with. It does take several months to really get the data in and a while to work out the kinks on our side. They have been right there to help us along the way as we were ready to take on more of the product.

Pros

The A/P component in and of itself paid for the product in reduced time spent inputting invoices/receipts. The inventory side, while there is a learning curve, has been great now that we are setup. We fully use the recipes, menu engineering and theoretical usage reports.It is part of my start to every day.Like the Budget summary. The combination of Budget and the P&L allow me to customize what I want my team to view and helps us track to metrics.

Cons

There are some things we would very much like 1) Waste Log. All the information is in ME to integrate a wastelog and it would be great to add to the variance report. 2) Menu Analysis using gross sales rather than net. We integrate with Toast and it may be a function of what Toast makes available. We LOVE the menu analysis but based upon our discounting program - it skews our view and requires us to focus more on the theoretical usage report and Menu items rather than the menu analyses. 3) Forecasting. Would be very nice to have an annual and monthly forecast integrated into the system.

Response from MarginEdge

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, Angie! We're thrilled to hear what an unlock MarginEdge has had on your business. It sounds like you are a true [me] star (no menu pun intended). We look forward to continually meeting your needs with future product feature releases and updates. We're always working on moving onward and upwards - so, keep the feedback coming. In the meantime, our Product team has added your wishlist to the roadmap, thanks!
UPDATE 9/28/2023: Hi Angie! We wanted to circle back to you and let you know that our Product Team took your concerns into consideration. View our new Waste Log here: https://www.marginedge.com/lp/waste-log-pros
We value your feedback and hope this new feature unlocks new heights for your restaurant with MarginEdge!

Replied 28/09/2023
Tyler
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/07/2023

My Review

Very Positive. Happy to be working with Margin Edge.

Pros

I think the recipe building and costing functions are great. Inventory is easy to use on mobile devices which our managers like. Menu Analysis has been very helpful with pricing and ingredient sourcing.

Cons

Integration of new products and sifting through vendor products could be a bit easier to navigate. It took me quite some time to figure out the easiest way to get the information I was looking for.

Response from MarginEdge

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, Tyler! Our ultimate goal is to not only produce amazing restaurant software, but for your company to love using it. We're thrilled to hear your managers are digging taking inventory on mobile app. As for sifting through new products, we appreciate your feedback and are continually working to make your experience easy and smooth. Thanks again!

Replied 08/08/2023
Trish
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/10/2020

Game Changing for Restaurant Work! I'm a HUGE fan!

I own accounting service that had sworn off doing restaurant work because of the vast amount of paper involved. Most of my time was being spent tracking down Sales and COGS info and could never do any real analysis. A couple years ago I discovered Orderly and used that service for a year or so until they eliminated the integration with QuickBooks Online. I went searching and found MarginEdge.
It. Changed. Everything.
I couldn't be more pleased. Not only does it help me take care of the avalanche of paper I used to have to deal with on a daily basis, but now we can get real Food cost, ingredient pricing alerts, etc. And I can deliver financials fast!
My clients think I'm a genius.

Pros

There are so many Pro's features it's hard to list them all... MarginEdge eliminates so much data entry, tracking down invoices, tracking down item prices, integrates with so many POS systems, integrates with QuickBooks Online and the Bill Pay service is AMAZING!! I also love that after scanning the invoices I can toss the paper, everything is in one place!

Cons

I really can't see any Cons here. Setting up can take a little time, but once it's set up, you're done!

Heather
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/07/2023

Best Full House Invoice and Inventory Management

Having used both Bevspot and Xtrachef before this product, I feel like ME is the best you can get for it's comprehensive coverage of invoicing, transfers, inventory, ordering, bill pay, and costing.

Pros

ME is great because it can do invoice management and inventory management for front and back of house.

Cons

ME could be better with it's app. The app does seem like there is a lot of room for improvement with features. The website can bug out occasionally during recipe building.

Response from MarginEdge

Hello Heather, thank you so much for your feedback! It means a lot that you took the time to share your feedback with us, as it's the only way we continuously improve. As you mentioned, comprehensive coverage is a game changer for us and we are glad it is checking off all of your priorities. Please keep the feedback coming, as we look to regularly update and improve our mobile app. Thanks again!

Replied 08/08/2023
miguel
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
1

4
Reviewed on 12/09/2023

my experience

cost, menu prices

Pros

it´s easy to use the information is very friendly

Cons

the information that i changed in my account affects the other restaurant as well, the other issue that we have is the shrink we dont have a section in margin edge to enter alll the shrink taht we have and we cant discount that products for our inventory

Response from MarginEdge

Hi Miguel, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are thrilled to hear you are enjoying the software and finding a lot of benefits. We actually just launched a Waste Log feature in the software, which will assist with tracking shrink. Hope that will provide some relief and lead you towards even more accurate reporting! Thanks again.

Replied 25/09/2023
James
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/12/2020

Great Product, A Must Have!

We now run inventories and can identify issues leading to higher food costs. We don't need to worry about over portioning or other loss as the software can help us identify the problems so we can solve them. We have our recipes in and they are compared to our sales to make sure we our costs are hitting our targets.

Pros

This software is super easy to set up and implement. My management team had no issues.

Cons

There is nothing I have issues with in Margin Edge.

Jennifer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/02/2023

Such a labor saver!!

We have been able to save a tremendous amount of time doing inventory and recipe costing with this program.

Pros

We have been in business for 27 years and this has been the one biggest and most effeicent changes we have made with regard to inventory management. Highly recommend! Easy to implement and learn. Very quick to set up. The recipe costing has been an added bonus - real time costs on everything at your finger tips. It's been a real eye-opener.

Cons

I wish we could choose the Price Alerts in bulk with a quick check list instead of having to select them one-by-one. It is a bit tedious to set up.

Response from MarginEdge

Thanks so much for the review, Jennifer! We're so happy to hear what a game-changer MarginEdge has been for you, your team, and business! Reducing tedious tasks and allowing your team to do more of what they love is precisely why we do what we do. Noted on the Price Alert tool, we've sent this feedback over to our Product team - as we're continually releasing updates. We'll keep you posted, and thanks again!

Replied 17/03/2023
Dinh
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/10/2020

Must have product for restaurants!

Overall great! Especially support. Always a pleasure to talk to support over there and they always have a solution. If they don't then they will find one for you. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is pretty much a hero without a cape....maybe he has one?

Pros

Daily polling sales are great! This minimizes daily journal entries.
Invoices coding are great, helps with manual entry.
Theoretical costs are great, really delve into how each item is used in various recipes.

Cons

Sometimes the OCR technology is not able to break down complicated invoices.

Example: Tshirts with different sizes on the same line instead of broken out as separate lines.

Jeremiah
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 13/06/2023

Quick Review

We use it for invoice processing. The sales are given in Gross, which we do not use.

Pros

Being able to enter invoices on the phone app.

Cons

The delay in invoices posting makes it less than ideal to catch things posted to the wrong category

Response from MarginEdge

Thanks a bunch for the review, Jeremiah! We're thrilled to hear the ease of invoice uploading from anywhere / anytime is serving you and your team well (not to play favorites, but it's up there for us, too). On the posting timeline, we hear you and it's something we've been actively working to improve. We've just made some recent (and significant) shifts on our end that should start to close this gap. Keep your eyes peeled and the feedback coming.

In the meantime, one of our Customer Success Managers is going to reach out to set up some time to chat more about your other pieces of feedback - we'll aim to get the sales bit sorted for you. Thanks again!

Replied 28/06/2023
Takashi
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 28/03/2023

Marginedge Is Good

Pros

Analysis of purchase/menu data is very helpful

Cons

Adding more push reports will increase the value of the tool

Response from MarginEdge

Hi Takashi - thanks so much for taking the time to send along your feedback about your MarginEdge experience, we're grateful for it! Glad to hear that you're finding the data analysis tools helpful, and noted on the push reports - we're continually working toward being able to give customers the data they want at the exact time they need it. We'll shoot you a note to learn more about what you have in mind here so we can add it to our product roadmap. Thanks again!

Replied 05/04/2023
Beth
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 26/04/2023

From a Chef Using the Product Daily-

Overall, it's a good product that functions well. There was some initial difficulty learning the system but after a few month's, I can see why this product is essential.

Pros

Recipe costing is accurate because prices update, so you always have a recent price.

Cons

Maintenance on products is required almost daily to make sure items are allocated correctly

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Enterprise and Toast POS
Bill E
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 07/03/2023

Margin Edge Saved My Bacon

Outstanding. They are part of the BILL-E's Team.

Pros

Margin Edge enabled my team to easily manage inventory and to quickly send images of invoices that used to be manually coded and ledgered

Cons

I am hoping they will implement the labor tools with our LINGA POS soon so we can utilize the system more.

Response from MarginEdge

Hey Bill-E, we are so very proud to be a part of the BILL-E's team! It's been a privilege working and learning right alongside you and your team through the ups and downs over the past few years. We've shared your labor tool wish list with the product team and it's added to our future roadmap - our plan is to get you to a place where you can start seeing a more complete picture of your labor costs ASAP. Hope to see you back at [me] HQ soon!

Replied 17/03/2023
Chad
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/04/2023

Inventory use of Margin Edge

Pros

ME is very user friendly. As I explore more of the options for inventory, I become increasingly comfortable with the program.

Cons

I have not found anything that I do not like so far, but would like to see if a scan gun and scale for measuring bottles can be incorporated with the inventory function. Would be nice to be able to more accurately weigh bottles.

Response from MarginEdge

Chad, we are so happy to see you comment on the user-friendliness of our software - we should high five! We have tons of help articles if you want to explore more advanced features. We'll pass along your suggestion for a scanner and scale to the dev team. We really appreciate your review.

Replied 29/05/2023
Mark
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/08/2019

Game changer

I have used ME at 2 different restaurants and it gives you such insight into your day to day purchases and costs. ME really helps you manage all of your controllables.

Pros

Margin Edge truly opened our eyes when it came to menu item costs. ME takes into consideration all of the little things that when building your menu you sometimes overlook from the seasonings that you use to even say bread crumbs. It made a huge difference in costing out our menu.

Cons

When it comes to entering your recipes some of the conversions are difficult but well worth the time.

Lupe
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 11/08/2023

Trio Restaurant

Very simple program to use.

Pros

That it can integrate and have a better idea what invoices are currently at hand.

Cons

That at times invoices are put in with a credit without actually receiving the vendor credit.

Response from MarginEdge

Hi Lupe, thank you so much for this feedback and for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate any and all comments you have on the software, as we are dedicated to consistent improvement. We've taken note of your comment about vendor credits and someone from our team will be reaching out to see what can be done to improve this issue. Again, thank you for your feedback and we are so happy to have you as a client!

Replied 04/09/2023
Sue
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 21/06/2023

Difficulty

Terrble

Pros

Nothing very hard to use . Extremely tedious.

Cons

Everything was hard to use and made no sense. It did not serve any purpose.

Response from MarginEdge

Hi Sue, thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. It certainly sounds like the product is missing the mark for you and your team, and we're really bummed to hear it. I've bubbled your feedback up to our Customer Success team, and one of our managers will be reaching out to set up a time to chat. We're eager to get a bit more granular on your feedback and see if there aren't some quick tips and tricks that we can implement to start to turn things around for you. More to come soon, and thanks again.

Replied 28/06/2023
Christian
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/10/2020

MarginEdge is a fantastic Inventory, Recipe, Invoice, Payable System

It has been excellent. MarginEdge was built by a restauranteur for restauranteurs. It really helps provide your teams a solid foundation of important information to make critical operational decisions. It also makes life much easier for the bookkeepers, managers, and chefs letting them focus more on priorities that add value to the guest experience. A great value.

Pros

Digitally captures and codes all invoices which has added consistency and transparency for management and accounting.

Cons

It is sometimes hard to get folks comfortable with new technology.

Jeff
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/03/2023

Outstanding Product

Outstanding

Pros

Easy review and transfer of sales items to Accounting Software

Cons

No problems at all, implementation was a breeze

Response from MarginEdge

Hey Jeff, thanks so much for the review - nothing makes us happier than to see MarginEdge hitting the mark across the board for you and the team. Glad you're loving the [me] and accounting magic - keep up the great work. Cheers to the continued partnership and scaled efficiencies!

Replied 17/03/2023
Yogesh
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 27/04/2023

Overall Good but have potential to become best

good but still need improvement

Pros

lots of the features that attract me to choose ME. like Invoice processing with line items, inventory management, a small portal with P&L. budgeting.

Cons

invoice processing turnaround time. Vendor managementuser managementpayment sync for auto-ach vendorsAP Aging detailed and summary

Alternatives Considered

Craftable
Kimberly
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/11/2020

Restaurant Integration Dream

Margin Edge has helped with inventory counts and controls, POS integration to Quickbooks, accrual base verse cash base differentials (so you can show both reporting). Their customer support team has been very responsive and timely which is a big factor!

Pros

As a Pro-Advisor to Quickbooks, my company handles many restaurants and this system has been a game changer! It seamlessly integrates with Quickbooks, helps in managing time, cost of goods/inventory, etc. to significantly assistant the restaurant owners in managing their business.

Cons

The ONLY drawback I have seen is when a restaurant is not menu based, then the inventory feature does not work properly. You also, as with any integrated system, need patience at time in the set up process; however, once it is up and running it works really well.

47 reviews