User Reviews Overview

About Microsoft Dynamics AX

Microsoft Dynamics 365 provides integrated solutions that allow businesses to track leads, automate field service, drive sales and improve operations using mobile, enterprise-ready business apps from the cloud. What is...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.5
Features
3.5
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3.5

Browse Microsoft Dynamics AX Reviews

65 of 65 reviews
Sort by:
Kikombeeusizuri B.
  • Industry: Building Materials
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 28/02/2017

AX

I use AX everyday in the office administration field. With the fact that I have been using it for a couple of years now, for the most part I can navigate through it easily. The database can hold tons of detailed customer information, and is pretty viewer friendly.

Pros

All of the information is always saved automatically when you close something, which is very helpful.

Cons

When AX first launched as a whole there were many bugs that had to be worked out, including me being kicked out of the system right in the middle of working on something. Also sometimes it becomes a hassel to have to have multiple screens open just to to enter or edit certain information.

Kristin S.
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 24/05/2018

Dynamic Software

Pros

A wonderful on-premises enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution for our enterprise. It has everything we needed and therefore implemented it into our company! Just went live with a few BETA clients.

Cons

The only issue was it took a long time to implement this product due to the complexity of it and our company dynamics.

Russ M.
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 11/10/2016

Mediocre ERP System

It's hard to dray the line between how much of my so-so approval of AX is due in part to somewhat poor maintenance by the planning team or the functionality of the AX. The program spit out 'order sheets' that were correct 15% of the time. The rest of the time was spent evaluating the others and chucking or revising the the details of the orders. Of the four ERP systems I have experience with, this was the least favorite of mine. If anything, this programs was tailored toward accounting and not so much to manufacturing.

Ajay M.
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/10/2018

Dynamics 365.

Pros

I like how it helps me stay updated with all my marketing and meeting schedules. It is a highly effective tool to manage large data sets and provide a proper structure by keeping everything organized.

Cons

Not very customizable and thus not fully suited for all sorts of business requirements. Also, the user interface seems a bit complicated and less user friendly.

Mike D.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 16/11/2016

Only getting better

Microsoft has really changed the playing field with the new D365. Seeing AX progress from 2009 to 365 has been a game changer for ERP systems

Pros

Extremely intuitive and simple to manage

Cons

Having to upgrade from an older version

Gideon A.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 19/09/2018

Great And Easy To Use Software

Pros

New users find it easy and less stress to use the software. Its user-friendliness is quite impressive and big ups to Microsoft.

Cons

I had a little challenge when setting up but realised it was not a big issue after sorting it out. It was easy to go after that.

Gina B.
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 06/10/2016

Fine for accounting but not as good as an ERP

Customer support was not very good and costly. Most changes/enhancements were timely and costly.

Josh E.
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/09/2017

Microsoft Dynamics Great Plains

I like the software, overall.

Pros

The software does what is is designed to do. It is accurate and very dependable. I rely on it for a multi-million dollar business.

Cons

It is a very difficult system to train an individual(s) on. Errors are difficult to trace down, if done in a prior month's posting period.

Timothy W.
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 07/05/2019

Dynamics AX, it doesn't have to be better, just Microsoft.

This ERP software replaces an outdated application with a learning curve as steep as Everest.

Pros

I thought about this for several days before concluding... there is nothing I like about this ERP software. Having said that, I'm one of many users with their own needs for this program. Maybe the quality module is taking a back seat to all the other functions of this complex integrated software because after all, it's just quality. Right?

Cons

The lack of systems to monitor and use as a QMS control tool makes it impossible to recommend. There are other software that has filled the gap for these deficiency's.

Sugianto M.
  • Industry: Civic & Social Organization
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/12/2017

Great Product

overall this product is good for ERP in the company

Pros

- This product is proven
- Almost no bug in operational using this software
- The feature is complete
- Good design for working with this apps

Cons

- Difficult to upgrade to newest version if at before we don't have maintenance agreement
- the price of license is expensive
-

Cesar S.
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/04/2018

The tool that you need for improve your business or company

Pros

This is an awesome tool that comes with all the elements that you need to improve your business, because Dynamics allows you to cover a big range of opportunities, working through five services: Sales, Service, Finance and Operations, Talent and Marketing. You can cover all the needs of your business through only one app, the support customer is awesome and the software works perfectly.

Cons

I have nothing bad to say about Dynamics, it comes with the features that you need for your business and has an easy integration with another Microsoft software like MS Office for example.

Allan H.
  • Industry: Chemicals
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 15/11/2016

Currently in Implementation

We are currently implementing Dynamics AX, it is not a simple implementation because everything is customizable. The user interface is simple and follow the typical Microsoft Office layout so it is easy for most to learn. The software has tons of possibilities and several ways of getting each transaction done so it will fit with your company procedures. We are currently on our 2nd year of implementation and plan on going live 2/1/2017.

Pros

very customizable, tons of features for all areas of the company. highly detailed. Easy user interface. Many reporting options.

Cons

Long implementation process, many things can go wrong during implementation.

Leo M.
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/03/2019

Great features but sometimes slow

Experience is on the middle. Unlike similar software that runs smoothly, it is not far behind. Just a little update and this will be perfect.

Pros

The product is very easy to use by pointing and clicking. So, the ease of use is somewhat good for those who are not that literate on computers. But you should be very patient as the system is sometimes slow.

Cons

As I mentioned, the software tends to run very slow sometimes. It is a burden when you are working on something. Frequent updates might fix this.

Erin P.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 24/02/2017

Microsoft Dynamics AX Review

I have been working with AX nearly a year. It's easy to use and understand.

Pros

Easy to use and understand

Cons

I have not found a "Con" yet

Vivian P.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/01/2017

My use of MS GP Dymanics

The system was cost effective with regards to similar products. It was easy to use and its multi-currency platform was most interesting for me given that my Accounting requirement needed the use of a dual currency system.

Pros

Generating reports, reconciling accounts and importing data.

Cons

You need to spend sometime to learn the system, and some of the function you might not use or they are too complex.

Miguel G.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 25/04/2017

Microsoft Dynamics AX

Pros

The software is developed by Microsoft, what gives it a good first impression. Additionally, it is rather easy to use.

Cons

Nevertheless, the functionality is not proper. Quite often, some of the bills I was introducing were automatically deleted.

Michael M.
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/06/2012

I have been working with Accounting software for close to 20 years. In my opinion, Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 is the most configurable mid market software available. It now has full Project functionality and the configurability of workflows is also great. It comes with 36 different roles, preconfigured (i.e. CFO, Project Manager, Accounts Payable etc.) I am very impressed.

Gino P.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
3

2
Reviewed on 15/12/2017

dynamics ax

Navigation is poor, does not support work process, cryptic best summarizes solution, there is nothing that is appealing for this solution

Pros

Hosted solution with easy access, other than that there is nothing that is appealing for this solution

Cons

Everything from look and feel, support of business flow, there is nothing that is appealing for this solution, great enhancements are needed to make if move viable,

Brian D.
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3.5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/09/2016

Microsoft Dynamics small installation

Pros

Purchasing was very straightforward on our EA and support is top notch

Cons

As with everything Microsoft, this is not a low cost solution.

Nuage P.
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 14/02/2019

Good and worth the money

Recommended.

Pros

We really like how it helps with inventory management. I have heard it is good for transportation but we don't utilize that feature.

Cons

It can be a bit pricey depending on the number of users. However, it depends on your use and the size of you company.

Carlos M.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 25/02/2017

Microsoft Dynamics AX review

If you're familiar with Microsoft products it's easy to manage this software. You don't need to be an expert to understand it.

Christopher M.
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 12/02/2019

Great choice of packages, outstanding options for all business needs

Pros

I love the fact that there are packages to choose from that allows you to control all aspects of your business including customer retention/ customer service. I think the options that are given are well above most other software providers, in terms of value

Cons

I was slightly disappointed that the Unified Operations Plan did not include the marketing or customer service options, but still is an outstanding value.

John B.
  • Industry: Farming
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4.5

4.5
Reviewed on 25/08/2016

Great software option for the growing business

Pros

The product is designed in a way that it can be customized to meet your needs. From the mid-size company to a global giant, the tools inside of the software can handle the simplest of task to complex workflows. The workflows are the best feature as I see it, they can make the tasks flow faster and run smoothly.

Cons

For some users, it may take some time to understand the full capabilities. Because of the size of the Microsoft, the customer support can be a little tough to work with, but not bad. There are also some improvements that can be made on the amount of click to perform a task in the out of the box version, but that can be simplified using the customization.

Sarah O.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 06/11/2016

Older versions hard to use

My company uses DAX to log our time and put in for expenses. It's very slow and frustrating to have to exit one screen to upload each individual receipt. Would also love to be able to view each phase in a bigger window or preview the details of a line item without entering a new screen.

That said, once you know how to use it, or if you only have a few to do, it isn't bad and I find it easy to find old timesheets. I also love that I can populate a timesheet with previously used codes.

Pros

Favorite settings for timesheets allowing me to populate a new timesheet without searching for each individual code every week.

Cons

Slow and text is too small - UI is unpleasant.

Kyle G.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
1.5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

2.5
Reviewed on 05/12/2014

AX system is incredibly slow and unreliable!

Pros

I like the vendor for their innovations in the market except for the AX system. The product is very easy to point and click. So, the ease of use is fairly good for those who are not very computer literate. However, you must be very patient as the system is incredibly slow.

Cons

This software is not able to maintain a large volume of traffic at once. I work for a billion dollar company, and all I can say is that it's a waste of money. The previous DOS-based system we had was faster and much more reliable. It's sad to think they charge the money they do for a broken system that is completely inefficient.

65 reviews