Network Performance Monitor Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Network Performance Monitor

SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) is a cloud-based network monitoring solution that enables users to detect, diagnose, and resolve network performance issues. The solution allows users to design a customizable topology...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.3

Browse Network Performance Monitor Reviews

71 of 71 reviews
Sort by:
Andre
Andre
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/05/2018

Excellent system for monitoring

Pros

This has to be by far the best networking and services monitoring tool I have ever used. It is rich in features and it just works.

Cons

It is an amazing system and I would recommend to anyone. It is however a little time consuming to set it up, for some people even a little challenging.

shabbir
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 19/09/2021

My NPM for critical NOC Monitoring and its operations

NPM is the best solution when it comes to performance monitoring as for sure no other product can beat in terms of monitoring like Netflow, web filtering, interface, CPU, bandwidth, disk, servers, DB, etc... and many more.
Even though it is best but has complications in learning and budget issues.

Pros

if there is something that everyone is interested in this product is its capability and performance. It makes network engineers' jobs easy and to identify errors quickly and focus on things that were really required.
Analysis of network firewalls on a very high basis like bandwidth utilization, Netflow, web filter, etc.. for engineers to analyze and identify when any issue comes up.

Cons

Budget is always an issue so many times after POC clients prefer for alternate solutions as it is best in capabilities of monitoring but its concerns about the budget when it comes SMB customers especially.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine OpManager and PRTG

Reasons for Switching to Network Performance Monitor

As the product is given more insights into the network for deep analysis when it comes to very big infrastructure makes Network team jobs easy to identify and troubleshooting. Product is capable of holding such information which we cannot identify with other products. Expect budget concerns NPM is best for the NOC team with any second thought.
Joshua
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 10/03/2023

SolarWinds NPM feels outdated and performance is lacking

I'd rate this product a 3/5. It does what you need it to but it requires more administration that it should and the performance is poor.

Pros

The tool does what you need it to do from a network performance standpoint. The features allow your typical network monitoring, including devices applications and services. As such it helps to troubleshoot and avoid unnecessary downtime.

Cons

Product feels dated and the performance is pretty bad when compared to other tools out there that are cheaper

Top Network Performance Monitor Alternatives

fazal
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/10/2020

Solarwinds npm

I have used multiple network monitoring softwares and there is no comparison with the support and quality of software with SolarWinds. A perfect monitoring tool with out of the box reporting and alerting with extreme customizations.

Pros

I have been using this software for a very long time and its graphical representations and reporting is so top notch and its very easy to install, configure, and troubleshoot and interact with highly skilled individuals on its Thwack Community and share and discuss new ideas and look for guidance/assistance and documentation with labs and we can collect points to exchange with gifts and certification vouchers.

Cons

Its a bit costly and fortigate firewalls are not supported completely to provide its site to site vpn details like it shows for cisco asa. It would be great to be able to monior our vpn and who gets in and out of our network.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine OpManager

Reasons for Choosing Network Performance Monitor

To get more visibility and quality with more customization in reporting and alerting with a vast number of supported devices.

Reasons for Switching to Network Performance Monitor

More customization and better visibility and very user friendly.
Earl
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 11/12/2023

Best tool we have for NPM

Pros

Ease of implementation and usage we see a lot!

Cons

The interface could use a refresh and I hope its coming on a future release soon

Alternatives Considered

AppDynamics

Reasons for Switching to Network Performance Monitor

Cost and implementation are the biggest factors
Larry
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 26/09/2018

network management in minutes

Pros

SolarWinds NPM (Network Performance Manager) is one of the most gratifying products to use. After installing on a server, you can literally in minutes begin collecting actionable network performance if you have previously configured SNMP on your network equipment. Most of the products integrate, building on each other and adding more value. I have always been impressed with how their new versions add significant features and value for just paying maintenance on the product. Their online training is also very valuable.

Cons

More advance features will take more effort to configure and generate actionable results. You can easily be overwhelmed by alerts and syslog if you do not make an effort to manage what you really need to see.

Hossam
Hossam
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 06/08/2021

SolarWinds Orion NPM Review

I can consider it the best NPM software out there, it is suitable for types of organizations starting with small till large & very large, I have been using it for more than 4 years & i'm satisfied.

Pros

NPM is one of the best Network performance Monitoring software out there, it allows me to add any type of objects within my Network Environment, Network nodes, Server nodes either Windows or Linux, and i can select the elements that i need to add & add the needed reports & alerts based on my needs.

Cons

What is least that i like about it is that when it crashes, or stops all of a sudden, then the Alerts & the Reports stop working & i have to login to the Application server to troubleshoot the problem, yet the support is always good & helping.

Brian
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 20/09/2022

Excellent Network Monitoring Software from SolarWinds

We love this software - it gives us alerts and generates ticket emails when a node has been down or is having a packet loss issue, or if we need to monitor bandwidth usage. We will likely stick with NPM for quite some time.

Pros

We can see at a glance if a client connection is down or has an issue. We have to be able to see at times if there is a packet loss issue at the ISP level, and NPM definitely helps with this.

Cons

After spending some time thinking, there is not much to complain about. The client node window does contain a LOT of info and can be slightly overwhelming until enough time has been spent navigating around.

Chris
Chris
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/03/2018

We use NPM to monitor our network stack.

Pros

Fast, clear status of performance and possible outages.
Easy integration with other tools and custom alert mechanisms.
A focused company who is very involved in making great tutorials.

Cons

The GUI is starting to look dated, it could use a complete overhaul.
License needs can be tricky to determine.

Jeremy
Jeremy
  • Industry: Mining & Metals
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/02/2018

Network performance Monitor is a must have tool for any IT professional to succeed in their...

Pros

You can not fix something you do not know is broken. NPM allow you to be notified as soon a any component you are monitoring goes off line. Its a game changer for IT pro's trying to get a handle on their network and hardware.

Jeremy
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 07/06/2017

Pricey but worth its weight in (insert item here)... Must have tool.

Pros

Complete network monitoring tool. Allows you a near single pane of glass approach to you network. You have details and i mean details about every server, switch, I even have my consumable good inventory vending machines monitored with NPM. Detailed level for switch ports and routers, Cisco UCS, HP, DELL, and the list goes on and on. When there is no identified MIB, you can create your own. You can label your undefined items so they mean something to you. The Agent for servers installs on Windows and Linux and is SO EASY. It offers WMI, SNMP and ICMP monitoring as well as the agent which gives you several flavors to monitor equipment. Ease of use is good, interface is above average, and saving my score is 1000 out of 10

Cons

For me there is only one real things that gets me with NPM. Licensing. SolarWinds has a great set of products, but the licensing costs are really high. Even a small company needs this software but its hard to justify. The way they count nodes against your license total is in my opinion unfair. I think of a server as a node, and everything on that server should be covered as 1 node, but they see everything down to seems like the vlans on a switch port, but to be clear it is not counting vlans. However if you have 2 48 port switches, that is 96 nodes, you want to monitor, guess how fast your 100 node license gets used up. But the price to jump up is super crazy expensive. They need to rework that.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/12/2018

Solarwinds NPM Review

This product is great when tuned and customized properly. We use it for alerting via email and for NOC (Network Operation Center) setups.
For those not familiar - this is when you set up a large monitor in a "monitoring " room to view network conditions in real time. Custom NOC views allow you to present pretty much any monitored information on a screen. It also allows you to configure a single display monitor (perhaps a 70 inch TV/Display) that scrolls through multiple screens of valuable information.

Pros

Allows for customized views and alerts to really lock down your essential requirements. (The problem is most users do not customize)

Cons

I do not like that they promote how easily you can roll out this software to start monitoring your network.
What they do not tell you that by doing a non customized quick roll out you will receive unlimited number of alerts to the point they will be ignored.
By default the system shows you too much irrelevant information and it alerts on way too many general conditions. BE Warned - without tuning the alerts you will get many false positive alerts.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/12/2018

Great network monitoring tool

I use NPM to monitor the health of the network routers and switches and the bandwidth used in the WAN links and switch uplinks. I also use it to monitor several Windows servers, including free disk space, memory and CPU occupation, the load of Hyper-V and VMWare hosts and the load, battery status and runtime of UPS devices.

Pros

It's very easy to setup and use and everything is configurable. It's really easy to configure dashboards and visualize every piece of information the way we want to. It can be used to monitor network equipment from a lot of vendors, as well as Windows systems and virtualization hosts and guests. Basically, anything it can connect to using SNMP or WMI.

Cons

It's not good at all to get information about endpoints. The information is unreliable: it doesn't find a lot of endpoints in the network, reports them with old IP addresses and in places where they are not connected anymore, etc.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 17/11/2022

NPM and Sam Application review

No emergency work,

Pros

Stable, easy to us. Customizable reports.

Cons

Sencers cost then software costs are too muchNo active support.

Jose
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 03/10/2017

Good, Solid Network Monitor

Timely alerts and warnings that keep our network and server infrastructure running smoothly.

Pros

Once it's set up, NPM is pretty easy to configure and monitor just about anything with a network adapter/connection. We purchased the SLX version which means we can monitor as many nodes/elements as we want. Email alerts are timely and help us stay on top of outages and server capacities. Been using this for 5 years now and it just doesn't the job. Can't forget about the customer SQL alerts either. Great job here!

Cons

You need SQL server for this. If not using an Express version, that's more costs. The SLX version is expensive compared to other solutions.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 18/10/2018

NPM is a very reliable and powerful network monitoring tool

It can use some improvements, but still, in 8 years we've been using NPM on a service provider scenario, it has solved about 80% of our customers requirements for network monitoring. When complemented with other products from the same vendor, it provides maybe 95%, since there's always something than need a specialized tool.

Pros

In the world of enterprise network monitoring, NPM has one of the shortest learning curves, its web GUI is very inutitive and you can start monitoring your assets almost immediately.
It's support for different monitoring mechanisms (snmp, wmi and agent) provides adaptability to mostly any network.
It possesses a very robust engine to configure thresholds, events and actions, so you can get the proper reaction to different events.
SolarWinds provides a very complete ecosystem of network monitoring and management tools with seamless integration.

Cons

The licensing model is not the best for a service provider scenario and it seems like the vendor doesn't even consider this option.
Reporting capabilities are sort of buggy , specially when exporting complex and large reports. This tasks will also consume a lot of resources. There's an opportunity for the vendor to maybe decouple reporting capabilities to a BI module which can be deployed on an independent server, and maybe use for it a read only replica of the production DB.

michael
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2018

Excellent Network Monitor, Very Intuitive

You can trust this software to watch over the network while you perform other tasks. If there is an issue, you will be alerted immediately

Pros

Solarwinds Network Performance Monitor gives you in-depth details about every server and switch. Once it is installed and configured, you just sit back, relax and engage in worry free monitoring of your network (unless of course it gives you an alert)

Cons

It is very expensive. The company that I worked for that used SolarWinds had no issue spending the money though, so after I left it was like leaving a family member behind.

Kevin
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 26/05/2017

Great product for Network Performance- but Software Experience a must

Pros

Monitoring for all endpoints available
Uses SNMP V1-V3
Alert notifications available for email distribution
dashboard for NOC or super user

Cons

Have to figure everything out yourself. Solarwinds does not provide much training on the configuration of the system to fully maximize it. The refer you to a outside consultant to setup the system. Support is pretty limited because many of the issues revolve around how it is setup. Which they would provide more training with the purchase of the product on how to fine tune the software for your needs

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/06/2019

The Best of the Best

The ability to monitor, report. and alert on our Network Infrastructure.

Pros

Solarwinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM) is by far the industry leader. The system is robust and offers real-time and indepth analysis of network interfaces, nodes, devices, etc.

Cons

The platform did some take some time to setup. Unfortunately, some of the alerting can be very vague. There are templated alerts, however, they do not fit the needs of our business. We spent countless man-hours in developing new alerting templates.

Ron
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/01/2017

NPM is one of the better products

I am utilizing NPM, SAM and DPA to monitor our environment. NPM is used to monitor a mix of Cisco and Palo Alto equipment. We are monitoring nodes in about 12 sites (2 hubs and 10 spokes).

Overall, the product is stable and features get added on a timely basis. If I had one gripe, I would wish that Solarwinds could move the product towards the cloud (ala Kaseya, LogicMonitor, etc). This would remove my need to run an application server and database.

Pros

Easy to use. Lots of features.

Cons

I wish the management and database were in the cloud and they used the "collector" model at the location to get the data.

Mike
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/10/2017

Great tool to keep track of servers and when they are performing poorly, or not at all.

Pros

Right out of the box, admins can begin using this software. Alerts are already configured for common needs such as when a server goes down, or when it reboots. Disk space, CPU and RAM usage, etc.

Cons

Can be a bit difficult to discern which variables do what when formatting alerts and email notifications. First initial load of the portal takes a few minutes. After the initial load, portal loads fast each time, until the next day.

Michael
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/09/2017

NPM - A Power Horse

The ability to constantly monitor the health of my network.

Pros

What's not to love? Deep, Reliable, and an absolute monitoring beast. I use this daily - DAILY - to monitor my company's environment. The awareness that it gives you is bar none the best around.

Cons

Cost can get hefty depending on how many modules you use. If your company is in a lucky enough position to accept the price, then you are in for a treat.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/02/2018

Solarwinds NPM easy to manage and setup. Easily integrate other Solarwinds Products

Pros

Easily monitor network devices and their performance .Track for network issues and have to ability to narrow down issues to specific ports. Easily customize view to show only what I need to see.

Cons

Not able to limit events across solarwinds platform to only devices I need to monitor. Have to manually Setup maps. (option to purchase mapping software separate) .

Neil
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/12/2017

Provides all the information that helps you with keep on top of your network before problems...

Pros

Being able to monitor and receive real time information about known devices on your network as well as having the forecasting ability so that you can plan for future growth easily.

Cons

Some of the alerts may require you to do some customization in order for them to work. Licensing for some of the modules may get some what pricey if you go into a higher level tier.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/03/2019

Solarwinds NPM Review

I am a network engineer for 6 years. I have been working a financial company which include hundreds of branches. We use NPM and we monitor all interfaces and nodes in our company.

Pros

smart dashboard, east to implement all node or interface, good alarm and report mechanism, sql base database

Cons

support fees, weak local developers and not exact negative command because it is really good.

71 reviews