User Reviews Overview

About Deltek Costpoint

Deltek Costpoint is an enterprise resource planning (ERP) and management solution designed to meet the requirements of midsize and large enterprise businesses. The solution primarily assists government contractors, professional...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

Browse Deltek Costpoint Reviews

194 of 194 reviews
Sort by:
Ruby L.
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 30/09/2018

Deltek Review

It is an ok system overall but there needs to be a huge update to the system to compete with it's competitors. The strong point is that most government contractor are using Deltek Time and Attendance since it is engineered for this industry so people are more likely to get the HRIS system to integrate easily with timesheets.

Pros

The system has a pretty easy interface to enter in basic information such as personal information, checking, tax information, and updating benefits. The ESS system once setup, it is pretty great for the employees as they can choose benefits through open enrollment, update tax information and update their address information. The reporting is simple for standard reports and can be easily pulled in excel format so you are able to manipulate the spreadsheets.

Cons

The software is very outdated and has not been updated in several years. Other systems are light years ahead of this system as it looks like it is from the 1990's. The custom reporting is very clunky and hard to create any of these reports as there are many files to look into and no intelligent search functions. You can only pull the reports in excel format so there not other options such as CSV and PDF. The ESS section is also out of date and not very integrative to the HRIS system. The setup for benefits, tax and validations tables in the back end of the system is hard to recognize and makes it harder for complete setup. There is ACA integration as well and it makes it hard that you have to click on separate sections of the screen to look at information rather than clicking one repository to reach all of the information.

Kent D.
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 22/03/2019

Deltek

Pros

Deltek Costpoint is a great software tool to manage parts, inventory, finances and cost reports.
It is very easy to use if you are aware that the first priority of Costpoint is a financial tool.
It is customizable to link to other software for ERP and MES solutions.

Cons

There is a dedicated support team, but for an enterprise solution there aren't many options for individual sites.

Robert D.
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 28/06/2017

This Software is a must have for any Gov't Contractor that wants to do business in this space

Pros

The application is very powerful and very flexible which allows you to set things up for your business as simply or as complex as you would like. The ability to enter everything only once and capture all the data needed to properly allocate all of your Fringe / Overhead / G&A or Material & Handling Cost Pools is critical to being able to prepare DCAA / DCMA compliant Invoices, DCAA Disclosure Statements and Incurred Cost Submissions. Every module that you add on automatically links with the existing Accounting data so no extra steps are needed to get different modules to talk to one another.

Cons

Not always easy to tell if or when a patch is needed to update a specific module. Don't really know anything is needed until you run into an error message. Sometimes it is hard to update or patch just the application that is giving you problems because fixes can cover more then one application.

Top Deltek Costpoint Alternatives

Nabeel C.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 18/11/2017

CostPoint Review

Overall, if you are in the government contracting industry, CostPoint is as reliable as a software as any out there. With its wide acceptance across the industry, it is a extremely useful software to be familiar with.

Pros

CostPoint is an extremely powerful and a widely used accounting software. One of its best features is the ability to accommodate a diverse set of accounting and financial needs and the innate ability to run seamless interfaces with other Deltek products such as T&E and Cognos. It's relatively easy to use and can be picked up by most users quickly.

Cons

Costpoint lags behind its competitor in the innovation it offers it's users and customers. They software updates are infrequent and often do not result in any major updates and upgrades. There are also many areas of functionality within Costpoint that seem to be offer duplicity and could be improved.

Ray V.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Easy Timecards

Overall, I've been very pleased in my experience with the software. Entering my time is easier than software used in my last job, and corrections are easier to make. My time cards have been easy to read and understand when going back to review them!

Pros

This software allows a user to easily access their timecards and log their time. Saving favorite codes for items such as contracts worked, favorites, leave, etc. is a breeze.

Cons

I haven't encountered any issues thus far. There can be an overwhelming number of time codes depending on the company you work for.

Brant S.
  • Industry: Shipbuilding
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Need improvement with standard reports

Pros

Ease of movement around system. The query function is a great way to filter info.

Cons

The standard reports are very poor. I wonder if they consulted actual users and asked what they needed. Has forced us to use cognos query and writer which is not user friendly. There are standard reports such as dispatch lists that should be part of the package.

Sarah T.
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 28/11/2017

A few kinks but easy to use

Pros

The platform is decently organized by Employee/Salary information and Leave information - managing either is simple and the accrual process is easy as well. I manage employee data and leave data but I am not an expert on any of the other system capabilities.

Cons

We've had issues with file feeds that have taken a long time to resolve. There are a few manual processes that need to be done during the accrual process that seem like they should be automated (i.e. removing duplicate beginning balance records when an employee goes from one type of leave to another in the same year).

Alba F.
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/11/2019

System

We track all our financials, invoicing our costumes and track our incur costs submmtion

Pros

Very easy to use and easy to learn’ very robust system from the beginning of a project all the way to the end

Cons

Flexibility sometimes is not your best, if you set up a project wrong you got live with it until it end

Diana K.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/11/2019

From Costpoint 3.1 to 7.1.1

Costpoint allows us to easily track costs by project.

Pros

Easy of use and love the ability to copy into excel. So much easier now than in the old CP versions.

Cons

Change Management and having to clear cache all the time.

Kent D.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/07/2018

Using Deltek Costpoint

Pros

Ease of use for end user. Very useful for finance and cost reporting. Ability to manage inventory, receiving, orders and configuration.

Cons

Need the ability to link to other software for downstream functionality. Such as MES or ERP systems.

Pauline W.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 06/07/2017

Makes reporting especially easy

Pros

Ease of use. From data entry to reporting, it is easy to use and also to translate the numbers into easy to read reports.

Cons

Not customized completely to meet our needs so we have to have work a around in order to accomplish our day to day activities.

Daniel B.
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/11/2019

It does the job, and then some

Installation, configuration, security & report writing

Pros

My coworkers get there work done, mostly without complaining to IT

Cons

Hotfixes and the needs to install them..... the new versions executables will be awesome

Sasi W.
  • Industry: Judiciary
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Accounting and Enterprise reporting Time and expense

Good and very fast customerservices

Pros

Extract data, doc storage. All in one place

Cons

Glitch with T&E missing workflow and hotel rates

Umar J.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/10/2017

Great

Pros

Had a chance to speak to the people who understands the product that I work on. It was great to interact with the companies who offer similar services.

Katelynn S.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/11/2019

Accountant review

Pros

This great for multiple companies and accounting propose

Cons

So much to this product that I don’t know all we have.

Kevin G.
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

3
Reviewed on 14/11/2016

good software for the money

mrp manager and getting on board with cp7.1.1. looking forward to understanding how wawf works and automatic backflush. customer support is very good

Pros

rfgen interface

Cons

big company wants to go to sap

Fred R.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
2
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 20/07/2017

There aren't many good products in the Market, but dealing with Deltek is awful

It does meet Government Accounting Requirements

Pros

It does have a lot of features that support Government Accounting. It allows us to enter very detailed levels of project string, ORG codes, and GL Account Codes for every transaction.

Cons

User Interface is terrible - still looks like a mainframe screen. Customer support while friendly is not very helpful. They always try to push a support ticket to their paid consulting services. I feel like they are always trying to get more money out of us.

Rosemarie M.
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 02/05/2017

I enjoy using Costpoint, In the beginning I was a bit uneasy using it but eventually the...

The benefits of doing my job well

Pros

I like that you can download your report to MS Word and Excel and customize them to meet your needs. Also you can customized reports in costpoint for special use

Victoria J.
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/11/2019

Simple & Necessary

Overall very good, have learned how to use it in the past year

Pros

It's easy to use and if you run the same types of reports it's simple to learn when you know nothing about costpoint (like I did not beforehand)

Cons

It gets stuck sometimes and it takes awhile to get it fixed

Donna W.
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 18/11/2019

Very user friendly

CostPoint meets my needs in performing my job. The ease of the system makes it a great tool to use.

Pros

I like the ease of the product. I was able to utilize it with little to no training.

Cons

More report options would be great. it limits my reporting needs,

Jason R.
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 02/05/2017

Still a little dated in terms of the interface but functional nontheless

Great connectivity and good flexibility

Pros

Connectivity to the data is great and the system always seems to be very reliable. Always can count on the system's data.

Cons

User interface is not up to the standards of some other tools in the market. Needs a fresh look and feel.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/08/2019

Very detailed system

Pros

Deltek CP can break down to run any report. Great for analyzing on all levels.

Cons

Not user intuitive. The system takes a long time to learn and is difficult to navigate.

Rachel W.
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 14/11/2016

Costpoint Review

Coming from GCS to Costpoint the depth that we can now get information from is amazing.

Pros

Having the ability to keep multiple period open at once is convenient. It allows us the chance to make sure that our data is correct before moving on. The increase in the number of available characters in our project numbers really helps in the organization process.

Cons

The increase in the number of steps to get our information out of costpoint seems unnecessary.

Joy H.
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 15/11/2016

Been using Deltek since 1999

We have had some recent not so positive experience with Support - being told for almost everything to apply the latest patches when they can't show us where in the patches it is going to fix our problem is not encouraging. After working through all the Hot Fix applications - we still have the problem - so, being to to apply them did not help. (Just a bit discouraging.)

Pros

We love the Web version and capabilities - looking forward to Extensibility

Cons

Changing support staff, getting someone from the other side of the world and having to wait until the next evening to get a call back.

David M.
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2016

Reliable product from a reliable company

Having used Costpoint and Time & Expense since 2008, I'm comfortable and confident with the breadth of the tools' functionality, as well as the critically important support provided by Deltek.

Pros

I most appreciate the stability of the processes built into the products.

Cons

As the products have evolved, they've unavoidably become complex, which makes for a large amount of details with which to become familiar.

194 reviews