Coupa Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Coupa

Point solutions are pointless: spend smarter with the leading spend management platform built for companies like you. The Coupa platform allows you to take control of your spend and position your business for resilience and...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
3.8
Features
3.9
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
3.9

Browse Coupa Reviews

93 of 93 reviews
Sort by:
Hossain Md
Hossain Md
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 18/01/2022

Coupa - The Expense Manager for your business

Coupa Expense has been a great software for our company to manage the spent smartly with a full proof apprval process. It has brought more transparency and accountability among the team members. As an organisation, we really appreciate this platform and would like to suggest others to use this application in their business.

Pros

Coupa Expense is easy to use. The following features are most amazing to me -
1. Requisition and PO management.
2. Approval DoA/flow chart is very easy to assign.
3. Reimbursement process is simple.
4. Multiple currency is available.
5. Full spent analysis report feature.

Cons

Coupa Expense is one of the best expense management softwares and I personally do not see any improvement area for this software.

Sekou Djibril
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/02/2023

Reviews of Coupa: An Efficient and User-Friendly Expense Management Software

Overall, Coupa software is a great solution for companies looking to improve their expense management. It offers many benefits, including simplified expense management, process automation, detailed expense analysis, and integration with other business tools. It can help businesses save time, reduce errors, and make more informed decisions.However, there are also downsides to consider, such as high cost, learning curve for new users, limited customization, and limited customer support in some regions. These factors can make Coupa less accessible for small businesses or those with specific needs.Ultimately, Coupa is a solid choice for businesses looking to improve their expense management and have the resources to invest in premium software. However, it is important to weigh the pros and cons before making a purchase decision and consider specific business needs to ensure Coupa is the most appropriate solution for them.

Pros

Coupa is a very effective expense management software that offers many benefits for businesses. Here are some of Coupa's highlights:Simplified Expense Management: Coupa offers a complete solution for managing business expenses, from purchase requisition approval to invoicing and payment. It is easy to use for employees and provides a pleasant user experience.Process Automation: Coupa software automates many tasks, saving time and reducing errors. Workflows can be customized to meet business needs, and notifications are sent in real time to enable rapid decision making.Spend Analysis: Coupa provides detailed analyzes of company spend, allowing managers to better understand costs and make more informed decisions. Reports are easily accessible and can be customized to suit business needs.Integration with other tools: Coupa can be integrated with other business tools such as ERP systems and e-commerce platforms. This allows closer collaboration between the different departments of the company and better visibility on expenses.Overall, Coupa is a great choice for companies looking to simplify their expense management, automate processes, and gain better cost visibility. The software is easy to use, offers detailed analytics and can be integrated with other business tools.

Cons

Although Coupa has many advantages for businesses, there are also some disadvantages that should be considered. Here are some of the negative points of Coupa:High cost: Coupa is quite an expensive piece of software, which may make it inaccessible for small businesses or low-budget businesses. Costs may also increase if additional functionality is required.Learning Time: Although Coupa is user-friendly and easy to use, there can be a learning curve for new users. It may take some time to get familiar with the features and workflows.Limited Customization: Although Coupa offers basic customization of workflows, it may be limited in some cases. Businesses with specific needs may find that Coupa does not meet all of their requirements.Limited Customer Support: Coupa's customer support may be limited in certain regions or for certain languages, which may make it difficult to obtain timely assistance. Their support can also be expensive and not meet all expectations.In summary, Coupa is an effective expense management software, but it can be expensive and present a learning curve for new users. It may also be limited in terms of customization and customer support. However, if the business needs a comprehensive and easy-to-use expense management solution, Coupa can be a good choice.

David
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 01/10/2019

Coupa is the worst software I have ever used

Pros

Absolutely nothing. The software is the least institutive, user friendly I have ever used.

Cons

Regardless of whether I am using expenses, requisitions or invoices, I have never been able to submit or save anything without having to get the finance team to perform magic in the background. The end user typically gets an error message "Please fix the errors below", but there are never any highlighted fields or errors displayed.

Top Coupa Alternatives

Oracle Database

SAP Ariba Strategic Sourcing

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/06/2018

End user's love but application team might face hurdles

Effectively reduces cost, better operational efficiencies and better end user experience

Pros

The tool is meant to give a very good experience to end users. All the out of box functions are designed with high quality UI standards which will reduce the learning curve for end users. IT team don't have to spend hours to explain the features and functions as the terminologies and configurations are quite intuitive. Finally so much comes out of box if planned well and ahead of time a lot of customization requirement can be avoided. The T&E module is really liked by a lot of top tier business users.

Cons

The integration capability is not up to the mark. When it comes to customize a lot of road blocks can be faced but it seems the Product team is actively looking in to some of them and with every release they are making some advancement in this direction. There are some weird limitation on few types of reporting capabilities which I think should be there.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Translation & Localization
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/07/2021

Coupa Review

Utilizing this product daily to send client invoices due for payment.

Pros

Its website is easy to navigate and upload invoices to. Support communication is a straight forward process as well.

Cons

It can be frustrating that the PO's need to be updated in order to process invoices. It is also frustrating that the system will not let you recall, void, or dispute an invoice that may have been uploaded incorrectly. It would be nice to be able to add changes even after an invoice has been submitted...even if that change was subject to client review.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 21/10/2022

Coupa

Overall experience is positive considering the time it saves and power it gives to its users .

Pros

Coupa speed is excellent and its is easy to use, whenever nee features are launched they are also easy to deploy and integration was smooth

Cons

Sometimes it hangs and does not respond but it happens rarely

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 04/02/2019

Coupa is a versatile platform for procurement as well as billing

This system works well and eliminates a lot of manual entry on the AP department.

Pros

You can make it as formal or informal as you want.
billing off of a PO is very simple

Cons

sometimes the servers speed is an issue.
it can take up to several minutes to process a single record.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 07/07/2021

Coupa Expense Software Review

I am happy with using Coupa expense

Pros

The user interface is good and it allows real time tracking of your transactions.

Cons

The one downside i have is the lack to customize your view or dashboard.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 10/07/2018

The best expense coding system we've ever had!

Pros

It is easy to learn and use! The process for updating and communicating about various transactions is so much simpler than it used to be. It's saved us time by keeping communication between our users and approvers streamlined. The fact that I can just hit "reply" to an email asking me to adjust some coding on a receipt has kept me from digging around in my company directory, figuring out who to call with a question, and getting redirected often. So much faster.

Cons

It can be a little slow to load and the mobile version has often had issues uploading receipt images or giving me access to all the coding breakdowns I need.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 03/04/2018

All purchases are placed through this system to deliver to accounting

Pros

The Simplicity of entering items to be approved. The different areas are very self explanatory and it is easy to navigate through.

Cons

Repetitiveness of entering information or submitting something. After entering all the information on one page it makes you re-approve on the next page. When adding another line to the items in cart, it makes you completely re-enter all information which is frustrating when the items are linked but may just be different in price.

siva
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 29/01/2018

Intuitive and stream lined invoice automation

Pros

With Coupa invoicing, your Account payables can handle less paper, reduce errors and decrease the invoice processing times drastically.With Coupa Invoicing, electronic invoices flow into the system from the suppliers, are automatically matched to a PO or contract (two-way or three-way matching), channeled for approval, and then routed for payment. The entire automated invoicing process is electronic for 100% accuracy. With Coupa invoicing one can Strengthen supplier relationships, use resources more effectively, capture early payment discounts, increase compliance, and reduce business risk. Suppliers will love Coupa, because they can monitor the status of their invoice online via a self service portal. There are multiple ways invoices will be processed in Coupa invoicing Viz via supplier portal, Emailed invoices to Accounts Payables etc. Coupa invoicing has automated invoice matching and tolerances capability, supplier actionable notifications, mobile friendly app.

Cons

Coupa cannot handle accounting. It needs to be integrated with an accounting software or Enterprise Resource Planning tool.

Joshua
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/04/2020

Review of Coupa Procurement

I've used Coupa for close to 5 years now. While the product provides a good value to it's primary functionality, the product lacks a level of polish to it. The navigation and processes to do specific steps feel clunky and not very smooth. I've looked for things only to ask Accounting where something is at because I simply can't find what I'm looking for.
While overall an ok to good piece of software there are pieces of it that make it time consuming to use and because of that I only use it when I absolutely have to.

Pros

Pros of Coupa:

- Allows process and systems to work through large purchases
- Helps better keep track of the purchases needed for the company (whether they be large or small)
- Ties the purchases to a PO for Accounting and Finance teams to keep track of.

Cons

Cons of Coupa:
- The usability of the product isn't polished. You can't find a submitted request easily to see who has the next step in the approval process
- It's difficult to search for created items in Coupa
- You end up searching for large amounts of time to do things in the product you need to complete but are not quite sure where those things you need to do are at.

Jessica
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 08/03/2018

Does what it needs to

Pros

That i can use the punchouts to directly order rom stores that link to it. It makes it way easier and takes away other steps for me

Cons

It's hard to search, right now i can't search to find items i have approved other than the administrator.

Lesha
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2018

Coupa is so easy to use and helps keep budgets in line, especially with approvals in place.

Pros

Coupa is easy to navigate and to understand. I can easily request payment be made for something, upload the invoice, IDT (Internal Department Transfer) specific items that our department needs, the list goes on and we have it setup with the vendors that we use to go directly to their page and once we've selected the items we would like to purchase it will send the checkout back to Coupa for approval and purchasing!

Cons

Honestly, I don't have anything bad to say about Coupa. There was only one one time that we couldn't figure out why a PO# wasn't reflecting right and we kept getting emails about a PO# that was denied but it wasn't. Maybe a weird glitch once?

Ciedelle
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/03/2020

Coupa makes business purchasing easy

I am satisfied with how coupa is used for B2B purchases and how most vendors is easily found when issuing the PO.

Pros

I like how helpful the global search is and how integrated it is with specific punchout, also how easy it is to track and receive orders.

Cons

Copying an order should allow punchout specific items to be automatically added to the requisition.

Bhavik
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 17/11/2022

B's thought on Coupa Expense

Pros

It is easy to use for day to day activities, featuring filters to save ample time kn searing activities. Keep records of all your data which opens endless opportunities of business optimization.

Cons

Multilevel approval stages are time consuming. Every action requires fully functioning user account, it would be great if we get tailored access to reduce costs

Brook
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 05/06/2018

Just implementing this new system- it's nice to have a purchase to pay software.

Being able to Purchase and pay out of one system. Instead of using two systems that don't talk to each other.

Pros

The Customer Support has been wonderful so far. They always get answers right back to you and walk us through suggested options to try. Every time we have any kind of question they know the answer right away. There is never a wait time.

Cons

It hasn't been the most intuitive. Hence, why we use the Customer Support so often. I wish it was a little more user friendly.

Oliver
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 01/12/2023

Does a job

Pros

Helps link employees with the financial department when processing invoices.

Cons

It's not very intuitive to use and can be quite difficult to understand what to enter if you're only an occasional user.

Samantha
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/06/2018

Invoicing for railroad

Pros

It is easy to search for previously entered invoices using our invoice number. It shows the status of an invoice

Cons

If an invoice is disputed, it is hard to delete it. We have also submitted invoices for approval and the approver never received.

Breann
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 11/09/2017

Coupa Expense Reporting Review

Pros

I love the wallet feature used to attach receipts to purchases, and the app makes approving expense reports so easy!

Cons

As with any new product, the setup and end user training can be very time consuming. I also dislike the per-diem function and hope to see improvements with the functionality.

Empiria
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
N/A
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/03/2014

A quick and easy way for me to manage travel expenses!

TripScanner has been an excellent way for me to help manage my company's travel expenses and policies. I've been using TripScanner for a few months and am impressed by the comprehensive reporting and ease of use. I previously had some issues with high travel costs caused by employees not adhering to our policies, but now I receive real time alerts if they go out of policy and can correct the situation immediately. Also with the Low-Price Scanner feature we have been able to spot deals and save money on hotels.

Pros

Quick and easy to setup. Real time reporting. Very easy for my employees to use.

Jim
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
1
Customer Support
1

1
Reviewed on 11/02/2019

WORST SOFTWARE OF ANY KIND I HAVE USED IN OVER 30 YEARS!!!

I ONLY GIVE IT A "1" BECAUSE "0" IS NOT AN AVAILABLE OPTION.

Pros

NONE! LITERALLY; THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOT A SINGLE FEATURE TO POINT TO AND SAY THAT IS EVEN ACCEPTABLE.

Cons

CLUNKY, CUMBERSOME BEYOND ANYTHING IN THIS CATEGORY I HAVE ENCOUNTERED IN 30 YEARS. PASSWORD FAILS EVERY SINGLE TIME, HAVE TO RESET FOR EVERY LOGIN, THEN IMMEDIATELY FAILS ON FIRST ATTEMPT FOR EXCESSIVE FAILED ATTEMPTS!!!!!

kathy
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/05/2020

Coupa

Overall Coupa is user friendly and easy to sue. Their customer service is easy to deal with.

Pros

As a user, Coupa is a good software. We are able to track invoices and process payments as needed with ease. It does what you need it to do for filing and submitting expenses. Payment procedures are easy to use. The software has a mobile app is also great to have on the road.

Cons

There is not much negativity with Coupa. However, there can be server speed issues. The mobile app can tend to be also slow but it is doable.

Darrel
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
N/A
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/07/2009

St Louis Archdiocese

I would strongly recommend including Coupa when you evaluate e-procurement systems for your organization.

Pros

Coupa has helped to transform the St Louis Archdiocese to a more streamlined process. The Coupa tool is easy to use, streamlines the procurement process and eliminates the paper flow that was slowing down invoice payment.Coupa was also easy to implement when compare to other e-procurement tools.

Cons

No cons to report. Coupa has exceeded our expectations.

Miranda
Miranda
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 07/12/2022

Simple and Efficient

Pros

Personally, I don't have a lot of experience with any other expensing software, so I do think Coupa is great for what it does. The platform is fairly straightforward, which serves my teams' purpose for it, as we primarily expense travel.

Cons

I wish Coupa had more comprehensive onboarding for users, as well as a bit more functionality, or even helpful tips and guides.

93 reviews