Carbonite Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Reviews
Learn More

User Reviews Overview

About Carbonite

Carbonite is a cloud-based backup and recovery software that provides end-to-end data protection and compliance solutions. Primarily catering to individuals, small, midsize and large enterprises, it allows users to automate cloud...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.0
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.0

Browse Carbonite Reviews

168 of 168 reviews
Sort by:
Susan
Susan
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/04/2022

249,576 Files Are Safe from Natural Diaster

Since it runs in the background and I don't need to do anything with it - my experience is awesome! I love seeing the reports pop on the screen saying my system just backed up XXXXXXX number of files. And at any time, I can open the software and see the files and view my backup on the Cloud. I am using Carbonite Safe CE 22.2 -- I have clients that say they have a backup to Google or other service, and quite frankly they don't understand the complexity they will go through to try to retrieve their data. I highly recommend Carbonite not only for business but also personal home computers.

Pros

Peace of mind. At any point in time, I know if my hard drive system were to be compromised, by disaster or stolen or other calamity--I could be back in business with all documents and files uploaded into a new computer hard drive system. I have stored in my system at this moment in time 249,577 files - work from over 10 years is compiled here for my marketing clients. My invoices and accounting are backed up. My IRS files are backed up.

Cons

As I was recommended to Carbonite by my IT guy, he is the one installed the software and also uploaded all of the docs and files when I purchase new hardware. So if I were to lose my data I would need to figure out how to do it and/or pay him to help me. I trust experts when it comes to my data and security, so this is not a huge issue for me.

Response from OpenText

Glad you're seeing the benefit of our product! Thanks so much for leaving us a positive and detailed review!

Replied 04/05/2022
mike
  • Industry: Military
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/12/2020

Information and file redundancy is key

My experience with Carbonite has been entirely positive. The few times that I have had to restore a file or several files were just a minor inconvenience compare to recreating the information from scratch. I would definitely recommend using this backup platform.

Pros

After a small learning curve the platform's UI is easy to configure and is intuitive. I can retrieve a backup copy of a lost file through the software's pop up in a matter of minutes and continue on with the project.

Cons

Unfortunately, any older files which are in my back up must be restored by a Carbonite representative. This involves a phone call and some time with the representative. Not a bad experience, just a minor inconvenience compared to the do-it-yourself newer backed up files.

Alternatives Considered

IDrive

Reasons for Switching to Carbonite

After my research was complete I felt that Carbonite better met the needs of my organization. The service plan was exactly what I was looking for and the brands industry reputation speaks for itself.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 11/05/2022

Deletion of backup

Pros

I found nothing positive about this software. Software was not as user friendly as the backup company Carbonite bought out. Sorry I kept with it but also shocked to see their deletion policy.

Cons

Carbonite has a 30 day policy to delete all data and is not recoverable if your subscription laps. Unfortunately my computers had to be reimaged due to malware, my credit card was compromised and I was just starting over when I found out Carbonite had deleted my data 5 days before. I had one email that stated my subscription had expired because my Credit card had changed. I didn' see it as I was caught up getting everything back on line. But my real problem with carbonite is this 30 day policy of wiping my backups off the server when you have been a customer for years. I totally was confident my data would be there. About 20 years of data was wiped out .I talked to a manager and she said that it is industry standard practice. I checked with several backup companies and none of them were definitely more reasonable. In most they were still recoverable. I didn't expect this type of service. Things happen unexpectedly and you would like to think the company you trusted your data with would have some archive. computers are being hacked every day and a company that cant hold on to your data during replacements etc is not customer friendly and not standing behind what they promise. By the way this company bought out my past backup company I had for years that definitely did not have a policy like this one. Go look for their policy. You will be frustrated finding it. But its been my pleasure to hear that multiple times as their excuse. I hope [SENSITIVE CONTENT] sees this review

Response from OpenText

Sorry to hear you've had a poor experience - Please reach out to support for assistance: https://www.carbonite.com/contact-us

Replied 26/05/2022

Top Carbonite Alternatives

Catherine
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/03/2024

Reasonably priced seamless back up

Pros

Easy to use and reliable. Bought it for work and then got it for my home computers as well

Cons

Recovering one or two files at a time was not intuitive and took a bit of time to sort out.

Matthew
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/07/2020

Great tool for backing up your computer files

You can choose which files/folders I want to include. A few times, I have needed to do either a file restore or a complete system restore and you are happy you have Carbonite since restoring is also easy.

Pros

It works automatically in the background.. I have mine set up auto-backup daily at 4pm. Nice that it does its thing in the background and you don't have to manage it.

Cons

Nothing really bad to say.. the interface is basic and pretty easy to understand. There is nothing I would chance.

Lori
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/11/2022

I've Tried Others But Came Back To Carbonite

Overall, you get what you pay for with data backup. I quit Carbonite for a couple of years and struggled. I finally came back to them this last year and felt such relief when I implemented the program.

Pros

Carbonite is easy to implement. I don't have to worry about it keeping my data safe with the automatic backups.

Cons

It's a little more expensive than some of the others.

Jessica
Jessica
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 25/09/2018

Set it and forget it while having peace of mind

I've had them for over 10 years in my personal computer and I've been very happy. I didn't care for the business version so chose not to use it for my business as there are other products that offer a better value.

Pros

Once you configure your initial backup, Carbonite will take care of everything for you on auto pilot. New files and changed files will automatically be backed up without you having to remember to. Restoring files after a catastrophic hard drive failure took a while due to the size of the backup but worked well.

Cons

Price has been increasing steadily over the years without adding value, other providers are now more competitive price wise.

Andrew
Andrew
  • Industry: Food Production
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 06/10/2022

Easy to use cloud backup solution

Pros

Once setup it is hands off and if you need to do a restore it is easy to do.

Cons

For us it just worked. We have not had any issues taking backups. We then use carbonite to restore to new systems as we rotate out hardware

Response from OpenText

Thanks for leaving a review - glad to hear that the setup has been easy and straightforward!

Replied 18/10/2022
Lester
Lester
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 13/07/2018

Great online backup service

It helps me to sleep at night.

Pros

You can backup your server and desktops using the locally installed software. You have great control over what and when everything is backed up.

Cons

When I needed to do a full server restore, it would have taken days to restore. I contacted Carbonite which sent me a hard drive with our backup on it, which save me many hours.

Travis
Travis
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 16/07/2018

Carbonite provides relatively good value for the money, but it could use some UI/UX help.

Pros

Carbonite provides a relatively inexpensive and seemingly feature-rich DIY solution for offsite backups. I appreciate being able to set policies for different user types, the ability to download partial or full user backups from the cloud, and being able to give end-users access to their documents on mobile devices via the Carbonite app.

Cons

At times, I find the Carbonite Server UI to be confusing and slow. The way that backup sets are configured and managed just isn't very clear to me. Additionally, when viewing the server backup history from the online control panel, more ways to search / filter the backup history by server, status, etc. would be appreciated.

Willie
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
1
Features
1
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

1
Reviewed on 08/02/2019

Buyer beware !!!

Last year I dumped my external backup drive to have a "more secure" off site backup alternative. (BIG MISTAKE) I saw many promotions on their service, everything made sense. Cost was reasonable and all that.

So I enrolled. Made sure that all my files were backed up through their app and all of that.
One day My hard drive crashed... OMG,,, well no worries, Carbonite has my files backed up.

I proceeded to restore my files. Surprisingly I noticed that my restore was going WAY SLOOOOOW. I diagnosed my network, new hard drive and internet connection.

I have 400 mbps internet service... Well I found our that after all my download was not exceeding 3 mbps. I proceeded to call tech support and after many attempts and escalations the told me that that was the maximum throughput I will ever need. That no matter which plan I enrolled their technology will not allow for greater speed because they do one file at the time,,, they encrypt and then decrypt,,,, they cant do it any faster.
So, be prepared to wait weeks for your download to complete.

Just don't expose yourself to this scam... It will NOT save you when you really need it.

Pros

Price and easy to configure. Customer support was very courteous and professional

Cons

It doesn't perform as advertised and/or expected. Restore function takes forever no matter how much bandwidth you have available.

Jacob
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
2

3
Reviewed on 03/11/2016

Good experience with Home version, poor experience with Business version

I purchased two separate licenses at the same time. One was for my home and another for my business. I have been satisfied with the home version, but ended up cancelling my business license after a year. I just kept getting error after error. Each time I called customer support, they had me uninstall then reinstall the software. It never fixed the problem. Eventually, I gave up calling customer support because they didn't try anything new.

I don't really know that the difference is between the two, but I had nothing but trouble with the version installed on my work server. The home version, on the other hand, has worked great. It runs quietly in the background. I gave my parents a license for Christmas one year, and they have enjoyed the piece of mind knowing their files are being backed up.

Pros

The home version works great. I like the ability to access my files remotely from any computer with internet connection.

Cons

When running, this Carbonite slows down my computer a little. However, I understand this is a problem with all cloud based backup storage.

Kathryne
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/02/2022

Reliable Choice

I have used Carbonite with the exception of one short period for over 10 years. It has gotten me back up through crashes and new computers flawlessly.

Pros

I have tried another "famous" product and found it extremely difficult to get everything backed up. With Carbonite I can see the status immediately and change settings as needed without having to go through a number of pages.

Cons

Not anything. Having used this product for over 10 years I have never had a complaint or recommendation for improvement. This software performs exactly as advertised and as I need.

Response from OpenText

Thanks so much for leaving a positive review! We appreciate it!

Replied 14/02/2022
Monique
  • Industry: Government Relations
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 31/12/2019

Worth the Money

Carbonite is definitely worth the money. Yes, it may be a little pricey; however, the cost is relative if you ever need to recover information/data from several PCs.

Pros

We use Carbonite in our office and it is a great program to have. The software runs in the background and doesn't slow your computer down. I also appreciate the friendly reminders of when we're either running out of space or didn't backup a computer during the week.

Cons

Make sure each machine has a specific profile name because the system will get confused. Also, please don't attempt to duplicate machine names (i.e. if your computer is completing an IT replacement) as this also confusing the system.

William
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 30/07/2020

Carbonite keeps your information safe

Carbonite is a great product that's very reasonably priced and does an excellent job backing up your information. We have personally relied on them more than once to backup information that was lost in a computer crash and we have never been disappointed.

Pros

Carbonite makes keeping a record of your valuable information extremely easy and reliable. In the past when we have had a computer crash and vital information was lost from the unit we were able to easily find and backup the information from Carbonite.

Cons

We really have not had any negative experience with using Carbonite. It is easy to set up and to download your lost information.

sharon
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 14/07/2017

Good backup software for personal or home use

Peace of mind knowing my files are backed up.

Pros

- You can back up an unlimited amount of photos, music, and files.
- You can easily see what files are included in the backup, and easily add more files.
- Backup is continuous, you don't have to check it or worry about it.
- Overall a good backup solution. I have not had any problems or errors.

Cons

- It takes forever to retrieve your files. I am restoring files from my old computer to my new one. It has been going for about three WEEKS and it is now at 83%. However, if I needed one particular file right away, I could search for and download that one sooner.

Cindy
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 11/11/2021

Carbonite

If a document was accidently deleted, you could go into your account online and retrieve it for a short period of time.

Pros

Once you have it installed on your computer/laptop, you don't have to worry about it, the back up is automatic. Besides my work computer, I have also purchased it for my personal computer because it is so convenient, the auto backup and the availability of your files from anywhere.

Cons

So far our company has been very happy with this safety net.

Response from OpenText

Thanks so much for leaving us a review! I'm glad you're feeling safer since using Carbonite!

Replied 22/11/2021
James
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 02/03/2021

Save your files with confidence with Carbonite!

Overall we have been pleased with using Carbonite. Being able to pay ahead has been great!

Pros

We love that we can count on Carbonite to have our files/data backed up when we need it. The application is easy to use and Carbonite has great features when logged in to change the way you back up your data!

Cons

Using Carbonite is safe and easy, the toughest part of backing up data is knowing how much space we need to have. The great news is that Carbonite will help you with what kind of space you need!

Response from OpenText

Thanks for leaving us such a positive review!

Replied 22/11/2021
Michael
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 09/06/2020

Great Peace of Mind, but expensive

this product has provided peace of mind for at least five years. i use it for my business. all my employees have it. this has saved me several times. highly recommended, despite the price.

Pros

I like that this gives peace of mind that all my files will be safe. I like the green dots that show easily which stuff is backed up. also, i like that you can get to your files easily in the cloud as needed.

Cons

the only thing i don't like about the software is the price. this is pretty expensive compared to other options.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/10/2019

Great product for all kinds of backups

Overall it continues to be a great experience. Support has been great. its saved my clients bacon a number of times when it comes to local restores. highly recommend

Pros

Ease of setup, ease of use. backup types and styles, and the ability to customize. Solid interface. Customer service and support.

Cons

When they updated to version 6, they changed the software interface quiet a bit, it feels restricted in terms of the ability to administer tasks. I much prefer that older classic look and feel for those of us who know their way about backup software. Price point is a little high, especially for small offices who only have 2-3 servers vs bigger clients who could have 6-10 or more.

Brian
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2020

Great in the background back-up

It has been very good and reliable. I don't even have to think about it.

Pros

I love that it backs up everything on my computer automatically to the cloud. I would not remember to manually backup my computer often enough to save myself from a hard drive failure. I also like to be able to access any file from my phone at any time.

Cons

I wish that I could download multiple files at once when I go into Remote Access. I can only get one at a time.

Spencer
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 05/03/2019

Carbonite provides the peace of mind you need for your files

Pros

I like the peace of mind that Carbonite provides, knowing that my files are constantly being backed up. I don't have to worry about losing one file should something go wrong at my workplace.

Cons

Sometimes Carbonite loses its connection to the internet and sends a message that you have not backed up in X number of days/weeks. I have to reboot the server and this usually fixes the problem, but it can be annoying to have to do that.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 06/12/2018

Love that Backup, Hate the Slowdown

Pros

Carbonite has saved my butt a few times when I've lost files. You used to be able to also see files on your iPhone but that feature was discontinued. I do like that you can choose what specifically to back up.

Cons

It slows down my computer A LOT. I've talked with tech support and they've tried to help but no matter what, it's slow. I set Carbonite to only run while in the middle of the night and that helps.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 17/01/2018

Good Program but can get Pricey

Pros

It offers an additional back up source for me at a reasonable cost. I am a belt and suspenders type of person so I want multiple back ups of everything I do. This provides me with an easy way to have an extra backup source.

Cons

I looked into using this program as my main back up software but when you start looking at the server version it can get expensive in a hurry.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 15/02/2019

Ok until it isn’t.

Quit working and customer service was unable to help me get it working again.

Pros

Once set up it is very easy to use. It will continue working in the background.

Cons

Can have errors or quit working and the user not be aware. The bing that makes it nice, automatic hands off backup, also makes it a danger. You need to verify frequently that the software is doing its job.

168 reviews