User Reviews Overview

About KickFin

Kickfin is a tip distribution solution that helps restaurants, bars, clubs, nightclub venues, hotels and entertainment centers directly deposit tips into employees’ bank accounts. It enables managers to create groups, manage...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

All KickFin Reviews Apply filters

Filter by:
Sort by:
40 reviews

Browse KickFin Reviews

40 of 40 reviews

All KickFin Reviews Apply filters

Filter by:
Sort by:
40 reviews
Sort by:
Kristian T.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2021

High Volume Restaurant Review

We have had less discrepancies since utilizing the Kickfin software. It has been a really positive change for us!

Pros

This keeps our cashing out process smooth and consistent. Very user friendly! Very clean and organized site. We have had very minimal hiccups with this software. Any troubleshooting that has been needed was easily resolved, as the team is very prompt to assist.

Cons

Some of the employees had mixed feedback about the .75 deduction per transaction.

Response from Kickfin

Hi Kristian! Love seeing your 5-star review. Depending on the state where they are located, employers have the option to pass the transaction fee through to the employees but the employer can always choose not to do this. It's easy for us to configure, and a change can be made at any time! (Other digital tipping solutions can cost employees up to $3 or $4 every time they transfer funds to their bank, and it can take several days for the transfer to happen; we've found that many employees don't mind the transaction fee in order to have their funds immediately available to them in their bank accounts!)

Replied 11/03/2021
Andrew R.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Wish We Had Changed Sooner

The process of setting up the system was very straight forward and simple for multiple locations accross multiple states. We have been paying for armourd car services for years due to the amount of cash we needed to payout servers tips at the end of each shift. The cost of the trucks were enormous each month, not to mention the amount of cash the stores had to keep on hand. The ability to reduce overall cash on-hand and cash handling is a huge win. We made the stores safer, less chance of employee theft, reduced the cost to the company, and added convenience for our team members.

Pros

We love the ease of getting new team members added to the system. We also like how easy it is to train new managers to use the system. The reporting is good as well.

Cons

The limitation of not being able to undo a transaction that was sent to the wrong person by mistake, or that had the wrong amount.

Response from Kickfin

Because funds are immediately available in your employees' accounts, it's not possible to reverse a transaction but there are a number of ways to address an incorrect payment. Contact [email protected] if you need help!

Replied 11/03/2021
Angela F.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 23/02/2021

Instant Pay

Pros

Very easy to use. Team members get paid instantly into their bank account. It allows you to put in your tip pool to make sure you assigned all money correctly. Love it!

Cons

Only con is that the session can time out if you take too long to put in the payments

Response from Kickfin

Thanks for your 5-star review, Angela! We'll be extending the length of the session in an upcoming release stay tuned.

Replied 11/03/2021

Top KickFin Alternatives

Craig C.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Kickfin kicks ***

Overall, I would recommend Kickfin to any Bar/Restaurant. It is a great way to keep track of what is being paid out. As for the employees, it is the best way to make sure they put their money in the bank.

Pros

Easy to use. I love how the money is placed in your account within seconds.

Cons

I could not find anything that I do not like about Kickfin.

Mark B.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Kickfin Review

I think it has been a big help here in the restaurant.

Pros

Ease of you and very convenient for the staff

Cons

Need to be able to enter the employees working on a shift before end of shift. If we put the names on early the system times out and all the info is lost and has to be put in again.

Response from Kickfin

Our tip groups feature should solve for this contact us at [email protected] if you'd like a quick walkthrough!

Replied 11/03/2021
Gyorgy T.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2021

Kickfin

Very good

Pros

Easy to set up and easy to use software.
Team members get money right away

Cons

Nothing
The system is very easy to use and fast

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Ease of use

Pros

This software was easy to use and manage. Distributing payments and managing employees were intuitive and simple.

Cons

Summaries and reports seemed to be harder to generate than expected.

Salvatore G.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Kickfin Review

I will say, honestly it has been an easy transition and much nice process than I thought it would be. I also can appreciate the team's willingness to hear feedback and adjustments sited from users like myself.

Pros

I love the addition of the (-1) feature at payment, makes things easier for reconciling. I like the ease of the process and how quickly it works.

Cons

When making a payment without a tipped group I feel like there could be a more efficient way of entering the team team members into the "sheet" or grid. Even a simple thing of being able to search a team member then hit "enter" key instead of having to click them over could make things flow quicker esp. for a bigger team, like one of my locations has. Also alphabetizing the team members in the drop down list could save some time as well.

Response from Kickfin

Thanks for your thoughtful review, Salvatore! Our product team is laser-focused on continuously improving our product based on customer needs. Your suggestions are on our 2021 product roadmap you can expect to see a lot of these changes in an upcoming release.

Replied 11/03/2021
Dylan S.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/03/2021

Never going back

Fantastic, I recommend it to other operators often.

Pros

Super easy to use
Hourly employees don’t have to worry about walking out late at night with lots of cash.
Instant

Cons

The chime card that is offered for employees without traditional bank accounts can be tricky to set up and shipping of cards was somewhat unreliable.

Parker K.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2021

Tracking Cashflow has never been easier

We no longer have to worry about people claiming they didnt get the cash they were due or wondering where cash went if a drawer doesnt balance at the end of the night, we can look back and see who was paid, how much, and when.

Pros

I was apprehensive when my superiors brought kickfin into our Brewpub but after the first few weeks of using it I would never want to go back. We are able to track where every cent that comes through the business is and our servers love that they aren't having to go to the bank to deposit cash all the time.

Cons

At this point in time I honestly cant see any negative aspects of implementing kickfin, it has dont nothing but make our lives easier.

Johnny O.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2021

Great experience

Kickfin solved a ton of time management issues as well as accounting errors.

Pros

Kickfin was a tremendous timesaver. Super easy integration into our systems.

Cons

The only thing I would recommend would be the ability to retrieve money after sent by accident. That’s easily overcome by the absence of user error but it would be nice to have.

Response from Kickfin

We're glad Kickfin has saved your team so much time! Because payments are truly instant and immediately available in your employees' bank accounts, Kickfin users are unable to reverse transactions. However, there are several ways to address an incorrect payment. Contact [email protected] and we'll be more than happy to provide guidance.

Replied 11/03/2021
Joseph G.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Kickfin !

Pros

Extremely easy to send money out to employees daily with ease.

Cons

Have not encountered any issues with the program, although tightening up on security for a 2 step verification payment system perhaps one for owners and one for management could decrease the amount of theft possible. Reports say it all!

Response from Kickfin

Thanks for the feedback, Joseph! If there is some additional reporting that we can provide you, in order to help protect against possible theft, we'd be happy to take the suggestion and work with our team to include this in a future release. Our support team will be reaching out to you for more information.

Replied 11/03/2021
Joshua S.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

It Works but could be BETTER!

It’s easy and makes people’s lives safer.

Pros

I like that it’s easy to to find the groups and pay without choosing dates like other software that I have used.

Cons

I don’t like the feature of not being able to reverse a transaction.

Response from Kickfin

Because funds are immediately available in your employees' accounts, it's not possible to reverse a transaction but there are a number of ways to address an incorrect payment. Contact [email protected] if you need help!

Replied 11/03/2021
James C.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2021

Kickfin is easy for tips

Pros

How quickly the money is deposited upon submission

Cons

I had to use an alternative email as my company email was associated with a different role in kickfin already

Response from Kickfin

Hi James! You should only need a second login if you belong to more than one organization and this limitation will be lifted in an upcoming release. Please give us a shout at [email protected] if you're having any issues logging in!

Replied 11/03/2021
Craig B.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 17/02/2021

Kickfin

Any issues that have come up have been resolved ASAP

Pros

Ease of use and support from staff, employee positive response

Cons

A little learning curve from what we have done for many years

Andrew K.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Fast and Easy

Pros

Great way to pay staff fast and easy. Staff has access to their money in minutes, no cash.

Cons

Could be less expensive based on volume but certainly not overpriced.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 25/02/2021

Nightly Tip Outs

We set up a system for nightly closers and jr. managers to use the software, and the GM audited their work every morning. Auditing was easy, and mistakes were rare. It's easier and faster than counting and redistributing cash and correcting mistakes is as easy as just distributing money a little differently the next night.

Pros

In an increasingly cashless society, this app allows you to continue tipping staff out nightly. It works great.

Cons

Once the money is out, it's gone. So don't make a mistake

Douglas B.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Great Company and Great Concet

Customer service is quick to respond with remedies to issues. Overall I am impressed with the company. It can be intimidating at first but is very user friendly.

Pros

As the future is obvious to most of us in the restaurant industry, cash is almost a thing of the past. Kickfin eliminates the tough conversations with your employees and allows us as restaurant managers and owners to continue to provide our teams with the daily tip out they earn. One of my biggest concerns going into this was the worry that my team members would be put off by the $1 fee but to the contrary they were excited about not having to leave with a pocket full of cash and even happier not to blow all their earnings across the street after a hard day.

Cons

I don't really find many cons with the system. Having the employee names being in alphabetical order would be much easier when doing the tip out at night but other than that its a great system and concept.

Nicole L.
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Recommend!

Pros

Product was easy to use and get started with. There have been improvements with it since starting to work with it making it more user friendly.

Cons

It would be beneficial to be able to update “business hours” so that way you can audit a single day easier, for us we are often paying team members after 1:00am and can get confusing when doing an audit seeing two days in one business day.

Response from Kickfin

Great news: you'll be able to customize business hours in our next release!

Replied 11/03/2021
Kaitlin B.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Cantina 76

Overall we have really enjoyed switching over to Kickfin

Pros

The ease of paying out employees and setting up new employees

Cons

Have to type in the $0.75 fee each time you pay out an employee. We wish it was just taken out automatically.

Response from Kickfin

Thanks, Kaitlin! We actually have a "tip holdback" feature that automatically pulls the transaction fee out of the employee payments. Our support team has reached out to you to ensure you're familiar with how it works.

Replied 11/03/2021
Rachel M.
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2021

LuLu’s Review

Really like the software, and the staff loves the quick deposits of their payments.

Pros

The ease of the setup process and daily use.

Cons

Would like to be able to put employees in order that works for our company, not necessarily alphabetically.

Response from Kickfin

Thanks for reviewing Kickfin, Rachel! Kickfin actually has a feature for pre-built tipping groups, which can help you keep your employees organized. Reach out to [email protected] and we'll walk you through it!

Replied 11/03/2021
Hannah H.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Great Product!

Pros

This product is so easy to use. My staff loves having everything deposited straight into their bank account the day they work. Setup was extremely simple and we have never run into any issues.

Cons

I have not noticed anything negative with this software.

Maria M.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Easy to teach and use

Easy smooth seamless

Pros

The set up process is simple and once you do it its hard to forget how to. Even if you do forget after a long vacation you can use the chat button or call a live person to help you if you forgot something along the way. for example add a new employee to system.

Cons

It doesn't effect me but the employee didn't like the 75 cents getting taken out each time. Our boss pays for credit card charges so after explain that they were chill.

Response from Kickfin

Thanks for the 5 stars, Maria! Depending on the state where they are located, employers have the option to pass the transaction fee through to the employees but the employer can always choose not to do this. It's easy for us to configure, and a change can be made at any time! (Other digital tipping solutions can cost employees up to $3 or $4 every time they transfer funds to their bank, and it can take several days for the transfer to happen; we've found that many employees don't mind the transaction fee in order to have their funds immediately available to them in their bank accounts!)

Replied 11/03/2021
Jennifer W.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 16/02/2021

Cash handling during a pandemic

Pros

I think that this is a great way to get our team to handle less cash without pushing them to the option of getting paid bi-weekly. It also limits the amount of liquid cash needed day to day.

Cons

The timing out of payments. It would be ideal to be able to add team members shiftly but pay at the end instead of it timing out if we take to long to add all of our team members.

Response from Kickfin

Hi Jennifer! Re: the timing out of payments, stay tuned this update is coming in our next release!

Replied 11/03/2021
Kim H.
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/02/2021

Makes the tip out process so much easier!

Pros

Makes the tip out process so much easier and faster! No more cash handling errors or keeping large amounts of cash on hand.

Cons

I love this product, In my opinion we did not run into any negatives.

40 reviews