JIRA Service Management Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews

4.5
Overall rating
Reviews
Visit Website

User Reviews Overview

About JIRA Service Management

Formerly known as Jira Service Desk, Jira Service Management is an IT service management solution that unlocks high-velocity teams. IT is in the midst of rapid transformation to build capabilities that enable quick delivery of...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.3
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.2
Customer Support
4.3

Browse JIRA Service Management Reviews

660 of 660 reviews
Sort by:
Dawit
Dawit
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 13/06/2023

Effortless Collaboration and Task Management: A Closer Look at JIRA Service Management

My overall experience with JIRA Service Management has been exceptional. The platform has revolutionized our incident management process and significantly improved collaboration among team members

Pros

One of the aspects I liked most about Jira Service Management was its exceptional incident resolution efficiency. The platform truly excels in streamlining the incident management process, enabling our team to respond swiftly and effectively to any issues that ariseWith Jira Service Management, we were able to create a centralized incident ticketing system that provided complete visibility into ongoing incidentsThe automation capabilities of Jira Service Management were a game-changer. We were able to set up predefined workflows and triggers, ensuring that incidents were routed to the appropriate teams and escalated as needed

Cons

While Jira Service Management offers a plethora of robust features, one area that I felt could benefit from improvement was its reporting capabilities. Although the platform provides basic reporting functionalities, there are certain areas where additional enhancements would be valuable

Jayanth
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
2

4
Reviewed on 14/08/2023

JIRA is the best overall Bug & Issue Project Management tool

Pros

- JIRA is very simple to setup & deploy for beginners & can also be used very effectively by advanced users- Has integrations with other tools- JIRA helps report, manage & track bugs, product features via tickets in 1 place- JIRA has history of tickets, work logs, etc that help document projects & promote overall accountability

Cons

- JIRA can be expensive for small companies & small teams- JIRA needs licenses for users just to view the JIRA board & tickets

Alternatives Considered

monday.com

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

We chose JIRA as everyone were familiar with the tool & had prior experience with using it.
Terry
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 13/12/2023

Jira is a good tool but need to know the limitation

The ITSM offers a high-quality service and a competitive price compared to other tools. However, it requires a skilled implementation partner for a successful deployment. This tool also needs ongoing support and maintenance to ensure optimal performance. It is not advisable to rely on a short-term professional service during deployment without continuous support/improvement.

Pros

Jira's ITSM module is user-friendly and intuitive. You don't need much training to master it. One of the features I appreciate most is the ability to mention other people with @ in the comment section and keep them updated on the ticket status.

Cons

The IT asset management module is very complex and requires a lot of configuration to enable the basic features. The out of box feature in this module was not useful for my purposes. I had to set up the IT asset classes from the schema level, which was time-consuming and tedious.

Top JIRA Service Management Alternatives

Pierre-Marc
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/01/2024

Jira made our work easier

Pros

It is easy to follow up on ongoing projects

Cons

The only thing that could be better is that the job filter has to be reapplied every time you move in or out from a ticket but it's not that much of a big deal.

Lillian
Lillian
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/08/2023

We track incoming work with Jira Service Management

I prefer Jira Service Management because it is very similar to Jira software; If you are familiar with Jira software, you will have no problem using this one. Concise but effective.

Pros

First of all, Jira allows us to manage customer support requests in an organized way. They can be tailored to individual squads and relatively easily monitored. All relevant details can be stored in one location in a Jira request. Jira is an easy-to-use tool and request tracker for teams, with features including customizable dashboards, access permissions, and time/effort monitoring.

Cons

Inadequate translation of Jira Service Management into other languages is one of its biggest drawbacks, as it results in an unnatural hybrid between English and the selected language.

Laura
Laura
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 22/09/2023

Simple and effective task management software

It's useful for monitoring progress and coordinating the many tasks that have been delegated. In fact, the tool's progress track can be used to make estimates for the deadlines themselves.

Pros

We utilize Jira to proactively guard against issues, notify clients when they are discovered, and monitor their progress and enhancements. Having the assignor's identity and that of the assigned person clearly shown also helps establish trust.

Cons

I had trouble finding older tickets or finding out who else had been assigned to the key I was working on; an internal chat function could greatly benefit those of us waiting for clients to respond to comments.

Shreya
Shreya
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/11/2023

The best tool for Helpdesk which works seamlessly with Jira

My team enjoys this tool a lot and we surely feel this is the most suited tool for the workflow we have. Highly recommend for helpdesk in IT

Pros

Works so well with a support email ID to collect client helpdesk issues, and even link them to development (IT project) tickets

Cons

Perhaps the dashboards can be easier and more insightful, for checking workload, number of issues managed per staff member etc

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Since we have a lot of helpdesk tickets that may translate into a product feature, or enhancement or bugs that can be forwarded to the IT development team, we wanted to use something that syncs with JIRA very well
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 01/04/2024

Great ITSM

Pros

Tool with good features and great for tracking tickets. Perfect for collaboration with your teammates. I like the customizable dashboard.

Cons

As any software of this kind the setup can be complex and difficult for new users.

Meylis
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/03/2024

Highly productive management software

Pros

Features and functions to manage tasks and sub-tasks

Cons

Since there are quite a bit of features, which is good, but it took some time to learn and get used to them.

Michael
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/03/2024

A great tool to improve efficiency

Pros

The ease of use and automation. It allowed to streamline processes

Cons

Nothing not to like it vastly improved everything it touched

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/07/2019

A great option for on-site ICT service desk management

Overall we are very happy with Jira Service Desk; it has allowed us to provide a higher level of support to users than our previous service desk, and non-profit pricing was very beneficial for us. The software is usable in its default setup but we have found that there is still plenty of customisation that can be done if needed to suit more complex requirements.

Pros

I find the UI of Jira Service Desk very clean and modern compared to other service desks software on the market. Included with the service desk is a customisable user-facing portal for users to raise tickets in, which proved very popular with staff when raising tickets alongside traditional email tickets. Due to the way Jira splits service desks into different projects, we were able to create service desks for other departments in the organisation which helped improve productivity and workflow. There are some very useful and well-designed default reports included for ticket statistics (which can be used to keep management happy!). We found the default setup of Jira Service Desk fit our needs very well, but it is very easy to customise ticket workflows and other features to suit more complex needs.

Cons

For a service desk technician using Jira Service Desk the back-end UI for managing tickets can be a little overwhelming, however this can be fixed by editing the default workflows for tickets to hide not required information and details. The administration settings are somewhat unintuitively set out for system administrators, but once you get to grips with the layout it becomes easy enough to find what you need from the settings page. We found the instructions on the Atlassian website for setting up an external redirect with a custom URL in IIS a little sparse on detail, but a quick trip to the Atlassian forums cleared up any queries we had with the process.

Reasons for Choosing JIRA Service Management

We switched as part of a service contract change which meant our Kaseya service desk which was provided by our MSP was no longer an option. Instead we decided to look at alternative service desk software that could be used for our needs, and as we were at the time considering implementing both OpsGenie and Confluence (which are also Atlassian products) we decided to remain in the Atlassian ecosystem and choose Jira Service Desk.

Switched From

Kaseya VSA

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

We chose Jira Service Desk as it was one of the few with a pricing model that worked for us; being a non-profit organisation, their free licencing for non-profits was a huge selling point to us. This was coupled with the fact we were at the time considering implementing both OpsGenie and Confluence (which are also Atlassian products) so we felt staying within the Atlassian ecosystem would prove beneficial.
Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/10/2020

Great Service Desk for Human Resources

Jira has transformed our 12-person HR department. We can now easily track incoming requests, are not reliant on email for communication, can create canned responses for consistency and efficiency, and we have the ability to operate 100% paperlessly.

Pros

Jira is extremely customizable, scalable, and easy to implement when compared with other SD platforms. Out of the box, it can be used as a tool to track incoming requests, however, paired with the thousands of compatible plugins, it is unparalleled. Jira SD has allowed our HR team to take our daily operations to the next level, transitioning antiquated, clunky paper processes into a 100% paperless experience.

Cons

My only complaint is when custom fields are added, you have to update every field configuration you have, individually. This is extremely time-consuming when adding multiple custom fields in an effort to create "forms" within Jira.

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Reasons for Switching to JIRA Service Management

Cost, ease of implementation, customization and scalability
Hiren
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/07/2022

JIRA Service Management is excellent Saas Platform for your ready to use need & with other...

Overall good experience.

Pros

JIRA Service Managment is have lots of customization capability & also ready made template is also good. Ready made report is good but for accurate details need more tuning to the reports or create own customize report.

Cons

When reporting things come in picture that require customization. Also standard ticket type is not good enought for day to day use. So to configure all these need require experience user or consultant to understand your need & configure it.

Rami
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 15/11/2020

A best-of-breed Platform for Help Desk and Service Management!

Pros

Scalability.
Flexibility to be tailored to particular organizational needs.
Very rich in terms of features.

Cons

Setup can be made a bit simpler.
Could use more ready 'templates' that can be used to quickly roll out the product for production.

Justin Alex
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/08/2017

Highly customizable and integrates well with the Atlassian ecosystem

Customization, integrations, workflows, SLAs

Pros

Newbies to JIRA Service Desk can get a service desk project up and running in less than 30 minutes. If your organization is already using JIRA for issue tracking, then having a help desk with Service Desk is a no brainer. It allows you to integrate software teams and IT teams better within the same ecosystem.

The benefit of JIRA Service Desk, when compared with other help desk tools, is the customizability of your workflow. You can set up a workflow to be simple (with Open > In Progress > Closed statuses) or complex (with other statuses like On Hold or Waiting for Customer).

SLAs are highly configurable, with the power of JIRA's JQL functionality. So one can conjure up a query to fit their SLA needs. With the addition of custom fields, a Service Desk administrator can create fields to capture important information to streamline the help desk process.

Having Confluence also provides more benefits in which you can integrate an existing knowledge base space to a help desk project and self-serve your customers.

Finally, being in the Atlassian ecosystem enables you to add additional functionality and enhancements with the use of Apps. There are close to 1500 apps available for JIRA, and many are constantly updated by the app developers.

Cons

Administering JIRA Service Desk (and JIRA in general) can be daunting for a new user. With a number of customizations that one can do in a JIRA application, there will come a time where there can be a performance impact on the environment if the application is not governed well.

The Customer Portal (customer facing interface) is spartan in terms of customization. You can only customize so much, but it is limited in terms of branding it to suit your company's design specs.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 02/05/2023

Cumbersome and slow, but no challenger

We're using Jira to manage our tickets and it works well. There are solid alternatives and competitors in the field, so I'm not sure for how long we'll keep using jira.

Pros

The feature set of Jira is very wide, it is possible to achieve a lot. The ticket management system works, and it is possible to customize it a lot. Custom fields, custom status, sceens shown in transitions, automation rules based on triggers, ...Jira being extremely famous, it has the advantage of being easy to connect to virtually anything: sentry, aws, circle ci, slack, notion, figma, github, ...

Cons

The UI is confusing, slow, and sometime very painful. For instance, for the longest time they did not support the markdown syntax in the text boxes. I consider myself very experienced with Jira and yet, I still get lost. Especially when it comes to managing boards or project or admin settings.

Lucas
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 07/08/2023

A Powerful Software for Efficient Software Development Management

JIRA is a highly powerful software that excels in managing software development projects. With its robust features and functionalities, it offers a comprehensive solution for teams to track and organize their work. However, it can be overwhelming for users due to the extensive customization options available, which may lead to a learning curve and occasional complexity

Pros

- Powerful project tracking: it provides an extensive range of tools and features to effectively manage software development projects, including issue tracking, task assignment, and progress monitoring.- Customizability: The software allows for extensive customization, enabling teams to adapt it to their specific workflows and requirements.- Integration capabilities: it seamlessly integrates with various development tools and platforms, facilitating collaboration and enhancing productivity.- Reporting and analytics: it offers robust reporting and analytics features, providing valuable insights into team performance, project progress, and issue resolution.

Cons

- Steep learning curve: Due to its vast customization options, JIRA can be initially overwhelming for new users, requiring time and effort to fully grasp its functionalities.- Complexity: The extensive features and configurations available in JIRA can sometimes make the software feel cumbersome, especially for smaller, less complex projects.

Mike
Mike
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/05/2023

Innovating IT Workflows

JIRA Service Management is an exceptional platform for IT project management and customer support. Its customization capabilities and the efficiency it offers in problem resolution and cross-team collaboration make it well worth the investment.

Pros

The platform offers a wealth of issue tracking features, reports and metrics that make it easy to monitor productivity and identify areas for improvement. In addition, the self-service portal and integrated knowledge base provide end users with useful resources to resolve issues on their own, reducing the support team's workload. Support for process automation is also impressive, enabling the implementation of automated rules and actions to streamline and optimize workflows.

Cons

Despite its many advantages, JIRA Service Management can be complex and difficult for new users to learn. Initial setup and customization takes time and effort.

Andrea
  • Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 19/11/2019

Best on premise

We use on premise version. Software administration can be burdensome for a small staff, updates and monitoring can require quite a lot of time. Price raised two times since first purchase. Apart from this, the tool has enabled us to precisely structure the service desk, reducing by 70% the number of phone calls and emails to better filled forms on the customer portal and the use of a chat addon.

Pros

- High Control
- Wide choices of features
- Confluence Integration
- Very rich suite of addons on premise version...

Cons

- ...which requires extra costs
- Some features are too basic and pretty much requires addons
- Learning Curve for admin requires effort

Alternatives Considered

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Switched From

Lansweeper
Mai
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 02/10/2022

Famous tool, yet can still be better

Reasonable experience

Pros

It has a very high adoption rate and big user base, therefore there are a lot of tutorials on how to do some certain things with Jira Service Management. That's a big advantage.

Cons

Nevertheless, quite a few features JIRA Service Management can enhance. For instance, the search engine of the whole JIRA is not yet powerful, although it is expected to be powerful because it's a system that administrates a large number of tickets. Searching using text often results in poor results. Additionally, it is currently not possible for searching for some phrases that belong to a hyperlink that is hidden inside a text.
Additionally, it is not yet possible to create a new type of relationship that links an issue with another issue. Currently one can only choose from a dropdown of relationship types that are already available there.

Tom
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 25/10/2022

User-friendly ticketing and service desk software

Our experience has been very positive, it enables our customers to log tickets without the need to call us which saves us time.

Pros

Integration was fairly easy, we use Service Management alongside Confluence, BitBucket, and Jira Software and having it integrate with our Confluence Knowledgebase is really helpful. The automation options are also extremely useful when new tickets are created.

Cons

Jira Service Management isn't the cheapest piece of software to use, third party integrations can be a bit unreliable, having to pay additional subscription fees for third party integrations isn't great.

Alternatives Considered

Zendesk Suite
Viveka
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 29/03/2023

JIRA Service Management

Overall, Jira Service Management offers several advantages for business and organizations, including IT service management, customization, collaboration, reporting analytics, customer support and agile project management.

Pros

JIRA Service Management is fantastic tool as it provides IT service management capabilities, allows businesses to manage IT incidents, problems, and changes. It helps to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of IT operations, reducing downtime and improving service quality. It offers customer support features, to track and manage customer requests and issues which reduces the workload on customer support teams. The amazing feature is, it also includes Agile project management capabilities, which allows businesses to manage projects using agile methodologies, as it increases project visibility, collaboration, and delivery speed.

Cons

Jira Service Management can be slow to load and can sometimes experience performance issues.

Erik
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
3
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 23/10/2018

Dig Deep Before Buying

It has solved some of our immediate business needs out-of-the-box or with moderate configuration effort. But as a full solution it is missing a handful of simple, but crucial, features. It definitely "feels" like a second version. It needs a third.

Pros

JSD is relatively intuitive and easy to learn without needing tons of documentation. Initial pricing is attractive. A decent plugin community fills some gaps, but be expected to pay on top of the initial JSD pricing.

Cons

Many "obvious" features are either missing or do not work as expected.

For example: in many cases, once an internal user is added to an issue, they no longer receive notification about internal comments. This is completely unintuitive, unexpected, and has caused many people frustration: https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDSERVER-3410

Another example: Email traffic about an issue is *always* public. Do not allow your staff to reply to JSD's emails as customers will also get emailed a copy! https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JSDCLOUD-3499

The worst part is, despite there being a few years' of discussion, and new comments added monthly by newly-affected JSD customers, Atlassian has no comments on the issues.

In some cases a plugin (more $) can help, but in some cases even the plugin manufacturers can't help as JSD doesn't expose enough info in their plugin API.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 23/04/2023

Keeps me organized and on task

I use JIRA to track all the work that I do as an engineer on my team. It helps me track of anything I pick up, organize upcoming work according to epics and prioritize work as needed. We also share this informaiton with our stakeholders so they can keep track of what's happening with each project.

Pros

I like that JIRA can be as simple or as complicated as you want it to be. I like that I can customize my dashboard and menus to my own personal liking and needs. It also helps engineers to sync on ticket requirements pretty easily.

Cons

JIRA can be complicated, but it doesn't have to be. I think there is a learning curve if you want to go beyond doing the basics, but I personally like to keep my workflow with JIRA pretty simple.

Abhinav
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 30/11/2022

Ticket Management now became easier!

Pros

Ticket management has been a breeze for our teams as we were lacking one stop solution for all out team other than dev teams, every colleague in out company can now get their issues resolved as per there query and doesn't require any manual intervention.Its easily integrable with. JIRA so are teams can link tickets in case of any enhancement. The UI is quite simple and easy to use.

Cons

The initial setup was a little cumbersome due to multiple rules which we needed for our business, other than then there are no issues!

Alternatives Considered

Zoho Desk
660 reviews