User Reviews Overview

About Mailchimp Transactional Email

Mailchimp Transactional Email is an email management platform, which helps small businesses send personalized emails to customers via simple mail transfer protocol (SMTP) or application programming interface (API). Developers can...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.1

Browse Mailchimp Transactional Email Reviews

163 of 163 reviews
Sort by:
Guido
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/06/2021

Good value for money, the perfect tool for small-medium size companies

I manage several accounts for clients of my agency. Mailchimp is mainly used to send periodic newsletters.

Pros

Animated gifs and the tone of voice of the interface: they may seem silly things, but when you're stressing because you have to push a button and send thousands of emails to your contacts, the picture of the chimpanze clicking the button for you helps to relax. The platform has all basic features needed to manage small-medium size databases. Marketing automation features let you manage transactional deliveries and automate many tasks and communications (this is especially useful when you have an e-commerce). Web hooks and especially the direct integration with Facebook lead forms are of course a big plus.

Cons

It is a basi tool, suitable to manage small-medium size databases. Bulk operations on the database and advanced data manipulation tools are mostly missing. I like the graphical UI but you need some time and training before you really feel comfortable with it (especially, knowing where to look for the info you need)

Alternatives Considered

BEE Pro and Sendinblue

Reasons for Switching to Mailchimp Transactional Email

Similar pricing, same features, MailChimp grants a native integration with Facebook lead forms and lets you send transactional emails more easily
Orianne
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/09/2022

With well-organized features and display is easy to use.

There are several different delivery services we could have used for our campaign. However, we decided on using the campaign creation screen because it's the most familiar and simple option. Creating a campaign on this screen requires no testing; its contents won't fail unless you remove critical parts such as the recipient and subject line. Additionally, you can create HTML emails on this screen— which allows for visually striking emails — easily. Currently, only plain text emails can be created with this service.

Pros

Sending newsletters via email is easy; there aren’t many options for editing HTML emails. Since their customer base primarily uses Twitter, it's beneficial to be able to link to other services used for email distribution. This makes it possible to send linked campaigns through emails and tweets from the service as an actor in the campaign. Recommended for first-time newsletter senders. This service can be tried for free; it's also the only service in its price range that automatically gathers subscribers from other systems and regularly sends out emails. By automating the tweets, the process eliminated the possibility of tweets being deleted. Plus, it reduced the amount of time people spent working manually.

Cons

Emailing members valuable information for free is possible through the analysis of multiple emails. Consequently, this allowed for effective email distribution.

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 09/05/2018

Great, while we had it!

Pros

I run a busy social network. Around 6,000 users total, and 300-400 online at any given time. Due to this, I needed a transactional email service that had great deliver-ability for invitations, verifications, password changes, etc. Mandrill was recommended to me, and we were completely happy with the service. Unfortunately, when they bundled Mandrill into Mailchimp, we couldn't afford it anymore.

Cons

Unfortunately, bundling services did no favors. What previously was affordable for us no longer was. While the service is great, the way the change was implemented was sudden, leaving companies little time or recourse to find other options quickly. That solidified my decision to leave- most companies would grandfather in existing members, offer a lower rate, something. They simply provided us with addresses for other services, losing customers in the process.

Top Mailchimp Transactional Email Alternatives

Manuel
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/06/2022

A versatile tool to get started with email marketing

Many who want to get started with email marketing will probably end up with Mailchimp first. The tool is well known in the market and offers almost all common features at a low price, at least for a small list. It's also fairly easy to use for laypeople and will quickly find its way around. There are also many integrations, which makes it easy to get started. Whether it's newsletters, automation, segmentation, or landing pages, Mailchimp covers just about everything related to email marketing. You can integrate Mailchimp into your existing infrastructure with just a few clicks and get started, and save 4 or 5-digit implementation costs if necessary. This is especially good if you have a store: with the option to connect stores in just a few clicks, you can start setting up automated emails around the customer lifecycle in just a few minutes. You can use data such as purchase activity, purchase date, and products to send highly personalized emails.

Pros

Mailchimp is a tool that allows everyone from beginners to professionals to get started with email marketing quickly and easily. For me, however, the tool's great strength lies not in the classic newsletter, but a) in the many integrations the tool offers and b) in the marketing automation features. Regardless of whether it's a store, a website, or a webinar tool, there is a native or third-party integration for almost everything. Mailchimp is sufficient for getting started in email marketing with occasional newsletter sending and offers many features. Mailchimp is one of my preferred solutions when I want to enable teams to quickly and easily get started with email automation, especially in the B2C/e-commerce area. With robust email features and many store integrations, personalized emails related to the customer lifecycle can be set up in record time.

Cons

The tool is ideal for the use of some possible things, and the complexity ranges from simple to complicated. In some places, however, it still lacks some depth, for example, when it comes to filtering certain e-commerce data.

Joe
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/04/2021

Solid Tool for Nurturing an Audience

9/10. Gotta have it if you want to grow a community or business. You don't know what you don't know until you see how your audience engages with you. Very revealing and help to see what type of subject line gets opened, who in your audience reads every email or doesn't read any of your emails.

Pros

Professional templates and layouts for simple plain-text messages or super feature-rich emails
analytics are excellent.
Segmenting your audience is great for re-targeting specific member of your audience.
Even the most basic paid option gives you a ton of growth potential and value.
Email building tool has a TON of features to make a kick ass email
Surveys ( a new feature) is a simple way to keep your audience involved
Compliance with 'unsubscribe' feature is essential business practice

Cons

Slight learning curve for importing contact and getting your database setup

Samuel
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2022

The best way to keep your supporters regularly engaged

It has shown to be cost-effective, and the analytics have played a big part in helping us assess the success of both the platform and each of our campaigns. By contact segmentation we have also been able to maximise donations be focusing appeals and content towards the interests of different audience groups based on there individual characteristics. This detailed level of marketing was not possible previously.

Pros

The templates provided make updates quick, easy and highly engaging and thanks to the analytics campaign success can be measures and tweaked for certain groups based on what gets a better click rate and open rate.

Cons

The software for emailing larger numbers of people during key campaigns becomes very expensive as it is based on the number of contacts and emails sent. However as a charity they have now offered us a small discount to help reduce this monthly cost.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 20/09/2022

Not Entry level

Pros

Good reporting on the transactional emails.

Cons

Templates need to be hard coded which does not allow for easy changes. Wish you could create emails without the knowledge for coding.

Maleia
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 31/08/2022

Email a chimp

I am able to spend less time weeding through junk and leaving myself more time to handle my business

Pros

It makes sending and recording high priority and emails that are more sensitive to the uninvited viewer so much more secure and that really creates more security in my business

Cons

It could have more options on the app for multitasking email tasks

Andre
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/08/2022

One of the Best Mass Marketing Tools Around!

Pros

Mailchimp has a clean and user-friendly interface. While the navigation could be a little more user-friendly (ie. certain tools are hard to find), a little time to learn the program helps. The analytics tool is also amazing. Tracking user activity (clicks and other engagements) are important and very well done in the program.

Cons

The program is expensive relative to what we need it for. As far as I'm aware, there are no institutional licenses that can be purchased. A university discount is provided, however. The lack of useful templates is problematic, even though campaigns are quite easy to create.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/08/2022

Great tool for email

We have found the Mailchimp emails to be very successful and being able to see the statistics for each contact is very helpful.

Pros

Learning how to use Mailchimp was fairly easy. It was self-explanatory and easy to use. We have found it as a great tool to send emails to the members of our association.

Cons

Removing people from our contact list was a little difficult to understand at first.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 19/03/2022

Email marketing solution that can handle all your demands in one go

Sending emails as part of our company's marketing initiatives is easy thanks to Mailchimp. The customers of each of our clients will be able to access unique deals and information. More clients are drawn to the website as a result of this. Having an email platform that allows us to send emails that are specifically customized to our customer’s needs is a huge asset.

People who have no marketing knowledge can use Mailchimp to create high-quality material that looks attractive. When people use templates, they may "drag and drop" information, and distribution lists allow them to select the recipients. In the end, Mailchimp is a terrific solution that does exactly what it is supposed to: send emails.

Pros

Marketing and HR use Mailchimp frequently. They frequently exchange emails to solicit opinions on various initiatives and agendas. Because it doesn't require any coding skills to create campaigns, and because there are enough templates for different types of campaigns, Mailchimp is simple to set up and use. It is possible to track down recipients who have opened and read emails sent by this program. It can also provide you with a record of all correspondence. Online invitations are given to us for training and group session seminars. We'll see if we can make it, and we'll mark it down in our calendar. Mailchimp's ability to provide customized content and automate workflows usually results in more efficient and speedier marketing campaigns.

Cons

When you start uploading photographs to your account, you'll immediately run into a situation where it's difficult to locate the files you need. To keep your images organized, you'll have to spend an awful amount of time removing or reorganizing them. Because there are so many variables in design and formatting, it's easy to overlook something while creating an email or a template. As a result, you may find that your output takes on a distinct appearance.

Christine
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 05/05/2021

Keeping in touch with MailChimp

We use MailChimp for our monthly newsletter (moved to MailChimp from a yearly printed letter) and occasional updates to our full support base. It has allowed us to get information out in a brand-conscious, nicely formatted fashion. We only use it for mass emails, it does not solve acknowledgement processing other one-constituent email transactions.

Pros

Simple yet fairly powerful editing tools for email building (drag and drop blocks) but still have the ability to tweak some HTML if needed (Some occasional glitches when adding images to text blocks.) Mostly consistent look across email clients (gmail can cause issues). Decent analytical information on opens, click rate, and other activity. AB testing support (although we have not used it.) Integration with CRM system (currently using NEON), although unsubscribes and bounces are not returned to CRM. Freemium plan was well worth it! We've been paid customers for several years now and find the price a little high as we gain users (small nonprofit), but still within budget. Ability to schedule emails helps (for those of us who work late at night but don't want to send a blast at midnight!)

Cons

Need more free templates or better ability to make changes to templates. Some limitations on layout design options. Emails go to "Promotions" folder, particularly for gmail users (although hard to avoid), so cannot guarantee receipt. Recent changes to interface have taken lots of time to get used to and do not seem to be an improvement.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 11/05/2021

Benefits of Mail Chimp Transactional Emails

Overall my experience has been pleasant and supportive for the non profit I work for. We will continue to use this company because they are always updating and making things better for its users!

Pros

Ease of building the template with examples in the Mail Chimp database gave me a great understanding of how to create graphics that would better align with the trends of today and how to better communicate with my donor base. Sometimes starting from scratch is intimidating but the support staff is very helpful and available.

Cons

Sometimes navigating where a campaign / eblast / structure is setup within the database can be tricky. Begin reading about the different setups within the database before building. I like to generate one look and duplicate for future endeavors. Sometimes I had a hard time locating the original in my Mail Chimp base.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 09/05/2021

Great for email marketing campaigns for small business

Mailchimp is probably one of the best ways to get started with your email campaigns. The free version is a great way to try it out and start building your base. I'll be upgrading to a paid plan soon so I can take advantage of more automations.
Thanks to the free plan, I've been able to see how useful it can be and get started with very little risk.

Pros

It is easy to setup your basic email campaigns to help get your email marketing started for your small business. The templates help you get all the information you need and generally it is a step by step process.

Cons

If you want to get into any real detailed marketing, you'll need to know what you're doing. While they do have good documentation, you'll need to dig in or hire a professional to handle it for you. The Customer Journey is a new addition that is really nice, but not 100% reliable yet. We’ve had to revert to regular campaigns a few times due to Journey failures. That said, Mailchimp support was very helpful and determined to work with their developers to create long term fixes.

Alternatives Considered

ActiveCampaign

Reasons for Choosing Mailchimp Transactional Email

SumoMe was a bit clunky and I didn't feel like it was working all the time.

Switched From

Sumo

Reasons for Switching to Mailchimp Transactional Email

The pricing is the only reason I didn't start with ActiveCampaign. Once my list really starts to grow, I will likely consider moving to get more powerful features. I just don't need them yet.
rendy
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 15/02/2021

Reliable Transactional email Provider

I'm really satisfied using mandrill as my provider

Pros

Mandrill is a reliable transactional email provider, I've been using this provider for over 1 year and so far I don't have any problem with that. They also provide complete API documentation so we can easily connect to our project

Cons

The cost for email is quite high compared to their competitor. But I choose Mandrill because I think they are more reliable than the competitor

Alternatives Considered

Mailgun

Switched From

SendGrid
Prem
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 12/06/2022

MailChimp is fantastic, but it has some drawbacks!

Mailchimp is used by us to build email lists for our clients, segment and target audiences based on business needs, design customised email templates based on our branding, and manage various email campaigns. We saw the results we wanted to see after implementing Mailchimp, but never did due to a lack of knowledge and such software. It has aided us in meeting our marketing and sales objectives.

Pros

When I send emails to my clients, I like that I can get free read receipts. It ensures that they are doing so. Other programmes may require you to pay an additional fee for read receipts. The interface is simple to use.

Cons

I occasionally receive false notifications that my clients have opened emails when, in fact, they have not opened the emails, as I have confirmed with them. It would be fantastic if we could streamline that to make it more uniform.

Alternatives Considered

Sendinblue

Switched From

GMass
Soham
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 05/05/2022

One of the most efficient CRM for mailing!

What is not to like about this software. All the way from creating highly customizable emails to having versatility with viewing and analyzing customer bases, Mailchimp is one of the best on the market right now.

Pros

Seemless integrations with websites and marketing flows. The sleek design and functionality makes it possible to link websites and this CRM.

Integrations with zapier and mailchimp can do wonders.

Cons

The price tier is a little on the higher end, and for obtaining some features, the user has to pay large amounts. The pricing plan could be more flexible.

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub and Sendinblue

Reasons for Switching to Mailchimp Transactional Email

Great onboarding processes.
Joshua
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/12/2018

An excellent, if costly, transactional email service

We were experiencing spikes in bounce and spam rates with AWS's SES. We were able to switch to Mandrill in a single day and immediately saw dramatic improvement. As necessary, we later built out support for bulk sends and black list checking and scrubbing. All in all it was an easy process and a good product.

Pros

Mandrill provides a simple and well documented API and has libraries and integrations available for many major web frameworks and languages. Making use of it for simple email sends is a fast and easy process, and it provides additional functionality for black lists, white lists, bulk sends, static IPs, etc. Their dashboard makes it extremely simple to see all the emails sent to a given address along with full content and reasons why sends failed or were delayed, which is a great for debugging and testing. They also provide analytics and send, receive, open, click, and bounce rates.

Cons

The service used to be much cheaper, but costs went up sharply when it was reabsorbed back into Mailchimp. Still an excellent service, but harder to recommend without reservation.

Juan Pablo
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 03/06/2021

Mailchimp a flexible email marketing platform

I am very satisfy with the use of MC. Of course could have some more fancy features, but OK with what you have now.

Pros

Mailchimp is easy to start using it from the beginning and has a lot of tutorials that are very well explained in case there are some features you lack experience. I also like there email collecting feature and WP plugin

Cons

There are some features you can not use properly like autoresponders or the average credit system for delivering emails.

Victoria
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 17/05/2022

Great for Transactional Emails

Pros

This tool provides an easy-to-use interface and great deliverability. Now, we can easily update our email templates online using templates built into the system. Mailchimp has also allowed us to set up our accounts and other preferences, and help with compliance. Their web app also keeps us updated on how things are going.

Email notifications are vital to us as they enable our customers to know about our products and services. Mailchimp provides us easy access to email delivery services without having to worry about downtime or broken links. This tool has really been a lifesaver!

Cons

If you are not a technical person, then you may have a problem getting started. Other than that, everything works great.

Sodiq
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/02/2022

Awesome email marketing software

Ever since I have been crafting and sending transactional emails to my subscribers on many different platforms, I have stuck with MailChimp. And in all of these years, I have had no serious issue that would warrant my lodging a serious complaint about the use of the software. I started with the free version and since upgraded to the paid one, and ever since, I have had no regrets. However, if we have anyone who is finding the software hard to use, I believe if he is patient a little while and keeps on using the product, it won't be long before he gains mastery of the interface.

Pros

MailChimp Transactional Email is an easy-to-understand product for designing and sending email campaigns. With an interface that is user-friendly and a simple integration process, the software is by far the easiest email software I have come across. Also, it is the dominant email software especially for small business owners with lean budget. So it means that it is hard not to find a client or platform that will have problems integrating the software. And the most interesting is that it can be accessed for free if one is starting with a zero to small subscribers.

Cons

Just as with every other software, MailChimp Transactional Email has its little inadequacy. For instance, the developer could make the interface a bit easier and more fun to use. Also, integrating it on a sales funnel design should be seamless as I often have a headache trying to figure out where exactly to input the code. In addition to this, the tracking accuracy could be worked on.

Dan
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 22/03/2018

Cost effective transactional email

Pros

A transactional email server is setup within minutes and available for you to send out content to your distribution list.

The application provides

- Graphs to show how many emails you're sending each day
- What countries your sending the emails to
- Open rates
- Mail clients used (useful to optimise content)
- Spam rates/unsubscribe rates
- Great delivery rates

Very cost effective.

Cons

A couple of years ago, Mandrill made it a requirement for you to have a Mailchimp subscription in order to use Mandrill. It would have been better in my opinion to keep the two applications independent, just like Sendgrid.

Whilst it doesn't make the cost materially more expensive, it does mean that you have to log into Mandrill via Mailchimp which is annoying.

Joe
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 29/04/2021

Rolled out a ton of new tools recently

Overall, Mailchimp has been a fantastic tool for our email marketing. The platform is sleek, easy to use, and can be learned very quickly. We are excited to explore the new tools Mailchimp is rolling out.

Pros

We've used Mailchimp for the past 4 years to communicate with our audience. Mailchimp is one of the best email providers around. Their platform, support, and reliability are top-notch. We rarely ever have issues when using Mailchimp.

Cons

Honestly, they've rolled out so many new tools recently we haven't been able to keep up. Our team is small, so we don't always have the time and resources to keep up with all of the updates.

Dylan
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 17/05/2018

Perfect client for managing and sending transactional emails

It allows us to maintain perfect email delivery for all our companies' transactional emails and easily troubleshoot instances where emails were not delivered.

Pros

This application is an addon of MailChimp and is best suited for transactional emails (automated emails, think 'forgot my password' type emails). It allows you to easily manage your sending domains , although you have to verify these before you can send emails. The best feature by far is the ability to view all emails that were sent or failed to arrive, including the contents of the emails and the reason it bounced. This allows us to quickly troubleshoot whenever we get a support ticket regarding an email that did not arrive.

During our 6 months of using this feature, there has been zero downtime.

Cons

It is more expensive than some competitors, but its pricing model is very fair and easy to interpret. It does require you to have at least a monthly subscription with Mailchimp, and if you are not using this it is more expensive.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/07/2018

Trustworthy tool for delivering emails to your customers

Pros

Works well, haven't experienced any problems. Has an online GUI where you can easily find emails that were sent, easy to see blacklisted emails. Has a nice statistics page to see how your emails are doing overall. We've been delivering millions of emails in past year without a problem.

Cons

The PHP SDK I used was kinda outdated and it had little options to change the behaviour without manually changing the source. They should update the library to standards that are more current.

GUI where you can view emails, etc. sometimes is a but slow. The search filters could use a face-lift.

163 reviews