User Reviews Overview

About Mailchimp Transactional Email

Mailchimp Transactional Email is an email management platform, which helps small businesses send personalized emails to customers via simple mail transfer protocol (SMTP) or application programming interface (API). Developers can...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.2
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4.4
Customer Support
4.2

Browse Mailchimp Transactional Email Reviews

235 of 235 reviews
Sort by:
Guido
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/06/2021

Good value for money, the perfect tool for small-medium size companies

I manage several accounts for clients of my agency. Mailchimp is mainly used to send periodic newsletters.

Pros

Animated gifs and the tone of voice of the interface: they may seem silly things, but when you're stressing because you have to push a button and send thousands of emails to your contacts, the picture of the chimpanze clicking the button for you helps to relax. The platform has all basic features needed to manage small-medium size databases. Marketing automation features let you manage transactional deliveries and automate many tasks and communications (this is especially useful when you have an e-commerce). Web hooks and especially the direct integration with Facebook lead forms are of course a big plus.

Cons

It is a basi tool, suitable to manage small-medium size databases. Bulk operations on the database and advanced data manipulation tools are mostly missing. I like the graphical UI but you need some time and training before you really feel comfortable with it (especially, knowing where to look for the info you need)

Alternatives Considered

BEE Pro and Sendinblue

Reasons for Switching to Mailchimp Transactional Email

Similar pricing, same features, MailChimp grants a native integration with Facebook lead forms and lets you send transactional emails more easily
Orianne
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 01/09/2022

With well-organized features and display is easy to use.

There are several different delivery services we could have used for our campaign. However, we decided on using the campaign creation screen because it's the most familiar and simple option. Creating a campaign on this screen requires no testing; its contents won't fail unless you remove critical parts such as the recipient and subject line. Additionally, you can create HTML emails on this screen— which allows for visually striking emails — easily. Currently, only plain text emails can be created with this service.

Pros

Sending newsletters via email is easy; there aren’t many options for editing HTML emails. Since their customer base primarily uses Twitter, it's beneficial to be able to link to other services used for email distribution. This makes it possible to send linked campaigns through emails and tweets from the service as an actor in the campaign. Recommended for first-time newsletter senders. This service can be tried for free; it's also the only service in its price range that automatically gathers subscribers from other systems and regularly sends out emails. By automating the tweets, the process eliminated the possibility of tweets being deleted. Plus, it reduced the amount of time people spent working manually.

Cons

Emailing members valuable information for free is possible through the analysis of multiple emails. Consequently, this allowed for effective email distribution.

karan
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/12/2022

Best Email Marketing Software for Start-up companies

My overall experience with Mailchimp Transactional Email has been great. It is easy to use and the interface is user-friendly. The templates are well-designed and it is easy to customize the look and feel of the emails. The reporting features are also very useful and it is easy to track and analyze the performance of the emails. Overall, I have been very satisfied with the service and would highly recommend it.

Pros

1. Easy to Use: Mailchimp is one of the most user-friendly email marketing software products on the market. It's designed to be intuitive and easy to learn, with a user-friendly dashboard, drag-and-drop editor, and step-by-step tutorial.2. Affordable: Mailchimp offers an affordable pricing structure, with plans ranging from free to $299 a month. This makes it a great choice for small businesses and start-ups.3. Automation: With Mailchimp’s automation feature, you can set up automated campaigns to send emails based on user activity, such as when a customer joins a list or makes a purchase. This can help to streamline your email campaigns and save you time.4. Reporting and Analytics: Mailchimp provides detailed reports and analytics, so you can track the performance of your campaigns and make informed decisions about your email marketing strategy.5. Integrations: Mailchimp integrates with hundreds of other services, such as Shopify, WordPress, and Salesforce, making it easy to integrate your email campaigns with other parts of your business.

Cons

No Phone Support: Mailchimp does not offer phone support, so if you have a complex question or issue, you will need to rely on their online support system. Limited Segmentation: Mailchimp’s segmentation options are limited, making it difficult to target specific groups of customers.

Top Mailchimp Transactional Email Alternatives

Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

3
Reviewed on 09/05/2018

Great, while we had it!

Pros

I run a busy social network. Around 6,000 users total, and 300-400 online at any given time. Due to this, I needed a transactional email service that had great deliver-ability for invitations, verifications, password changes, etc. Mandrill was recommended to me, and we were completely happy with the service. Unfortunately, when they bundled Mandrill into Mailchimp, we couldn't afford it anymore.

Cons

Unfortunately, bundling services did no favors. What previously was affordable for us no longer was. While the service is great, the way the change was implemented was sudden, leaving companies little time or recourse to find other options quickly. That solidified my decision to leave- most companies would grandfather in existing members, offer a lower rate, something. They simply provided us with addresses for other services, losing customers in the process.

Collis
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/12/2022

My experience using Mailchimp

My overall experience was great despite only using the free trial

Pros

Easy-to-use features and deliverability to help with inboxing

Cons

More contacts for the price, so I could send more for less

Dhanwanth
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 25/12/2022

Mailchimp: A Popular Email Marketing Solution Worth Consideration

Overall, Mailchimp is a popular and widely used email marketing solution that offers a range of features for creating and managing email campaigns. Mailchimp can be a useful tool for businesses and individuals looking for an email marketing solution, but it may not be the best fit for everyone.

Pros

Mailchimp is a popular email marketing solution that is widely used by businesses and individuals. It offers a range of features, including email templates, automation, and analytics, which can be useful for creating and managing email campaigns. Mailchimp has a user-friendly interface and is easy to use, with clear instructions and helpful resources for beginners. The software offers a free plan that allows users to send up to 10,000 emails per month to up to 2,000 subscribers.Cons:Mailchimp's paid plans can be expensive, especially for larger businesses or organizations with a large email list.Some users have reported issues with the deliverability of emails sent through Mailchimp, which can impact the effectiveness of email campaigns.Some users may find the customization options limited or not as advanced as other email marketing tools.Some users have reported experiencing technical issues with Mailchimp, including bugs or glitches in the software.

Cons

Mailchimp's paid plans can be expensive, especially for larger businesses or organizations with a large email list. There were some issues with the deliverability of emails sent through Mailchimp, which can impact the effectiveness of email campaigns. I found the customization options limited or not as advanced as other email marketing tools. I've also experienced technical issues with Mailchimp, including bugs or glitches in the software.

Ukeje
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 28/12/2022

Mailchimp is an excellent tool , that can be used adequately on the free plan

In my previous job, when most of the Mailchimp features I have described above were free, Mailchimp was an excellent tool, that could be adopted without the need to think twice or create a 100 reasons to choose Mailchimp presentation. Now the business model has been reevaluated, requiring you to subscribe for a good experienceHowever, even on the free plan, the experience is not that bad. The issue is just like Photoshop has garnered an audience due to ease of use, and muscle memory, I have fallen back on Mailchimp over the years when I try others and just find out that they are not that good, or I got used to using Mailchimp. It is a good product overall, and even with the new design the user experience remains spectacular

Pros

I liked that even though MailChimp has evolved over the years, the free plan is still useful for small businesses without big budgets, and with a small but valued number of people on their mailing list. Integrations with third party tools is also possible, and you are given tips to make your email stay and get opened in your customer's inbox.

Cons

Some features that make your email stand out, increase engagement and make your emails more relevant for your customers are a paid feature. You have to really consider if you would like to subscribe to use the other features or if you and your team can live without them.

Alternatives Considered

FreshMail, Gmail and Zoho Campaigns

Reasons for Switching to Mailchimp Transactional Email

Ease of use, familiarity with product.
Albertus
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 12/01/2023

Mailchimp, a well-known email marketing solution

All things considered, Mailchimp is a well-liked and commonly used email marketing tool that provides a number of capabilities for setting up and managing email campaigns. Although it might not be the greatest option for everyone, Mailchimp can be a helpful tool for companies and individuals searching for an email marketing solution.

Pros

The platform's overall design language has been carefully considered, and the layout and templates are exceptionally user-friendly. I particularly value the platform's delivery of data and analytics, which are transparent and simple to understand. I can quickly assess how well an email campaign performed without any hassle.

Cons

Email campaigns may not be as effective as they may be due to deliverability concerns with emails sent through Mailchimp. Compared to other email marketing solutions, I thought the personalization choices were either limited or not as sophisticated. Additionally, I've run into bugs or other technical problems with Mailchimp.

Apechhaya
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 18/12/2022

Email Marketing

It's easy to-use-tool. The reports are excellent. There are plenty of advanced features to make use of, like landing pages, appointment scheduling, and online stores. Though Mailchimp does have some really nice features and is mostly easy to use, the price of the service could be a bit off-putting for small businesses on a budget.

Pros

Mailchimp is killing it in the email marketing world, you could say that Mailchimp basically owns emails. Mailchimp offers a wide range of automation templates, which are detailed and easy to edit. The drag-and-drop builder is user-friendly and has all the content blocks you'll need.

Cons

Whereas, the dashboard is pretty clean and easy to read. However, I find it a little difficult to find certain features in the navigation menu. For example, landing pages and the form builder are hidden under campaigns and audience, respectively.

Lynn
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 26/01/2023

An efficient, user-friendly communication tool

I use this for a weekly newsletter. I get a 68% open rate likely due to the ease of reading and attractive layouts.

Pros

It is easy to use and editing photos to appropriate size is so easy! The options are flexible and varied. I love the photo gallery option in the classic version.

Cons

The new beta version doesn't allow for galleries, which is one of my favorite features. I wish they would restore this feature.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

4
Reviewed on 09/05/2021

Great for email marketing campaigns for small business

Mailchimp is probably one of the best ways to get started with your email campaigns. The free version is a great way to try it out and start building your base. I'll be upgrading to a paid plan soon so I can take advantage of more automations.
Thanks to the free plan, I've been able to see how useful it can be and get started with very little risk.

Pros

It is easy to setup your basic email campaigns to help get your email marketing started for your small business. The templates help you get all the information you need and generally it is a step by step process.

Cons

If you want to get into any real detailed marketing, you'll need to know what you're doing. While they do have good documentation, you'll need to dig in or hire a professional to handle it for you. The Customer Journey is a new addition that is really nice, but not 100% reliable yet. We’ve had to revert to regular campaigns a few times due to Journey failures. That said, Mailchimp support was very helpful and determined to work with their developers to create long term fixes.

Alternatives Considered

ActiveCampaign

Reasons for Choosing Mailchimp Transactional Email

SumoMe was a bit clunky and I didn't feel like it was working all the time.

Switched From

Sumo

Reasons for Switching to Mailchimp Transactional Email

The pricing is the only reason I didn't start with ActiveCampaign. Once my list really starts to grow, I will likely consider moving to get more powerful features. I just don't need them yet.
Steve
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/05/2021

Good service to send blast email to current customers

When we have had to make business announcement, such as price increases, this software made it easy to get that message out to all our customers.

Pros

Once everything is set up the ability to send out business announcements to all our current customers.

Cons

The ability to use custom templates. Also the cost when you have more than 5000 customers to contact.

Joe
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/04/2021

Solid Tool for Nurturing an Audience

9/10. Gotta have it if you want to grow a community or business. You don't know what you don't know until you see how your audience engages with you. Very revealing and help to see what type of subject line gets opened, who in your audience reads every email or doesn't read any of your emails.

Pros

Professional templates and layouts for simple plain-text messages or super feature-rich emails
analytics are excellent.
Segmenting your audience is great for re-targeting specific member of your audience.
Even the most basic paid option gives you a ton of growth potential and value.
Email building tool has a TON of features to make a kick ass email
Surveys ( a new feature) is a simple way to keep your audience involved
Compliance with 'unsubscribe' feature is essential business practice

Cons

Slight learning curve for importing contact and getting your database setup

Manuel
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/06/2022

A versatile tool to get started with email marketing

Many who want to get started with email marketing will probably end up with Mailchimp first. The tool is well known in the market and offers almost all common features at a low price, at least for a small list. It's also fairly easy to use for laypeople and will quickly find its way around. There are also many integrations, which makes it easy to get started. Whether it's newsletters, automation, segmentation, or landing pages, Mailchimp covers just about everything related to email marketing. You can integrate Mailchimp into your existing infrastructure with just a few clicks and get started, and save 4 or 5-digit implementation costs if necessary. This is especially good if you have a store: with the option to connect stores in just a few clicks, you can start setting up automated emails around the customer lifecycle in just a few minutes. You can use data such as purchase activity, purchase date, and products to send highly personalized emails.

Pros

Mailchimp is a tool that allows everyone from beginners to professionals to get started with email marketing quickly and easily. For me, however, the tool's great strength lies not in the classic newsletter, but a) in the many integrations the tool offers and b) in the marketing automation features. Regardless of whether it's a store, a website, or a webinar tool, there is a native or third-party integration for almost everything. Mailchimp is sufficient for getting started in email marketing with occasional newsletter sending and offers many features. Mailchimp is one of my preferred solutions when I want to enable teams to quickly and easily get started with email automation, especially in the B2C/e-commerce area. With robust email features and many store integrations, personalized emails related to the customer lifecycle can be set up in record time.

Cons

The tool is ideal for the use of some possible things, and the complexity ranges from simple to complicated. In some places, however, it still lacks some depth, for example, when it comes to filtering certain e-commerce data.

Joshua
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 06/12/2018

An excellent, if costly, transactional email service

We were experiencing spikes in bounce and spam rates with AWS's SES. We were able to switch to Mandrill in a single day and immediately saw dramatic improvement. As necessary, we later built out support for bulk sends and black list checking and scrubbing. All in all it was an easy process and a good product.

Pros

Mandrill provides a simple and well documented API and has libraries and integrations available for many major web frameworks and languages. Making use of it for simple email sends is a fast and easy process, and it provides additional functionality for black lists, white lists, bulk sends, static IPs, etc. Their dashboard makes it extremely simple to see all the emails sent to a given address along with full content and reasons why sends failed or were delayed, which is a great for debugging and testing. They also provide analytics and send, receive, open, click, and bounce rates.

Cons

The service used to be much cheaper, but costs went up sharply when it was reabsorbed back into Mailchimp. Still an excellent service, but harder to recommend without reservation.

Sodiq
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 24/02/2022

Awesome email marketing software

Ever since I have been crafting and sending transactional emails to my subscribers on many different platforms, I have stuck with MailChimp. And in all of these years, I have had no serious issue that would warrant my lodging a serious complaint about the use of the software. I started with the free version and since upgraded to the paid one, and ever since, I have had no regrets. However, if we have anyone who is finding the software hard to use, I believe if he is patient a little while and keeps on using the product, it won't be long before he gains mastery of the interface.

Pros

MailChimp Transactional Email is an easy-to-understand product for designing and sending email campaigns. With an interface that is user-friendly and a simple integration process, the software is by far the easiest email software I have come across. Also, it is the dominant email software especially for small business owners with lean budget. So it means that it is hard not to find a client or platform that will have problems integrating the software. And the most interesting is that it can be accessed for free if one is starting with a zero to small subscribers.

Cons

Just as with every other software, MailChimp Transactional Email has its little inadequacy. For instance, the developer could make the interface a bit easier and more fun to use. Also, integrating it on a sales funnel design should be seamless as I often have a headache trying to figure out where exactly to input the code. In addition to this, the tracking accuracy could be worked on.

Samuel
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organization Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/09/2022

The best way to keep your supporters regularly engaged

It has shown to be cost-effective, and the analytics have played a big part in helping us assess the success of both the platform and each of our campaigns. By contact segmentation we have also been able to maximise donations be focusing appeals and content towards the interests of different audience groups based on there individual characteristics. This detailed level of marketing was not possible previously.

Pros

The templates provided make updates quick, easy and highly engaging and thanks to the analytics campaign success can be measures and tweaked for certain groups based on what gets a better click rate and open rate.

Cons

The software for emailing larger numbers of people during key campaigns becomes very expensive as it is based on the number of contacts and emails sent. However as a charity they have now offered us a small discount to help reduce this monthly cost.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 14/07/2018

Trustworthy tool for delivering emails to your customers

Pros

Works well, haven't experienced any problems. Has an online GUI where you can easily find emails that were sent, easy to see blacklisted emails. Has a nice statistics page to see how your emails are doing overall. We've been delivering millions of emails in past year without a problem.

Cons

The PHP SDK I used was kinda outdated and it had little options to change the behaviour without manually changing the source. They should update the library to standards that are more current.

GUI where you can view emails, etc. sometimes is a but slow. The search filters could use a face-lift.

Brandon
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 14/02/2018

Mr

Pros

Mandrill is a powerful application that has proven useful for transactional email. They offer an API, decent reporting and storage of track/click data for 30 days.

Cons

As part of Mailchimp they now require both a Mailchimp and Mandrill subscription. I have no problem paying for Mandrill but I'm not a fan of this billing requirement as I don't need Mailchimp. Secondly, in the 2-3 years that I have been using Mandrill I have not seen a single feature release. I find this unusual. True, it works great as-is, but there are definitely areas that can be improved or features that can be added.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 20/05/2021

Good price and it is easy to use

I think it worth it for the price, if you are a beginner sending email campaigns this is the right tool for you

Pros

I like that it is really easy to use, creating an email is very intuitive. I really like that you can know who unsuscribed everytime you send an email, I also like that you can visualize the email in a browser in case it doesn't work in the email inbox of the user.

Cons

The transactional emails are still improving. It took me a while to learn how to set up this option but in the end I learned.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 13/06/2018

Very good transactional email API

Pros

The API is easy to use and the setup is fast. Rather cheap plans when you get started (but gets expensive soon)

Cons

The archive of messages is way too limited! I don't require to keep track of the message content of all our messages, but for our business we must keep track of whether the emails have been sent/read/rejected or not, and there is no way to achieve this even on a higher plan. We'll have to build a workaround with webhooks or find another tool that offers it

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 23/07/2019

Mandrill

Mandrill has been great to help reduce the amount of time I spend on each client of ours. I have the ability to check email faster and help more people.

Pros

Mandrill is great to backtrack on emails that my company has sent out. We have the ability to view if the email was delivered, bounced, and how many times it has been sent + opened and clicked on. The features of mandrill are great for the company because we rely heavily on mandrill in order to see that.

Cons

At this moment, I can't think of a negative effect of mandrill. It is very easy to use and easy to maneuver around.

Ekaterina
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/04/2021

Good tool for small companies

Pros

Reporting & interface - I've worked with other tools, and Mailchimp is way better (easy to understand, use to set up).
I like the possibility of integrations

Cons

I'd like more flexibility with creating segments

Alternatives Considered

HubSpot Marketing Hub and SendGrid

Switched From

HubSpot Marketing Hub and SendGrid
Elizabeth Michelle
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/07/2021

The importance of Using Mailchimp to send bulk emails

As we use MailChimp, we are solving the problem of sending bulk emails to subscribers that are less personalized when done in normal emailing.

The software also helps to ensure that the communication is neat by use of templates.

Pros

1.I like the way I am able to view a full report of the people that have opened the email and those that haven't. This helps me plan for other ways to communicate in case the open rate is low.

2. I like the templates provided in variety that helps me structure my communication in a simple and effective way.

3. I like contend Studios as it helps me get creative with my communication by adding in the GIF and photos.

Cons

The email inbox of Mailchimp is something I don't understand much.

Rebekah
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 09/02/2022

Easy to use and a great platform for all of your marketing needs

Helps us to keep in contact with our customers and leads!

Pros

One of the great features is there are so many templates to choose from which save a great amount of time!

Cons

Nothing at this time. It is more on the expensive side but works great.

235 reviews