User Reviews Overview

About cPanel & WHM

cPanel & WHM is a server management software that helps small and medium enterprises, developers, business leaders and partners manage websites and web servers. It enables teams to create domains, launch email networks and backup...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4

Browse cPanel & WHM Reviews

104 of 104 reviews
Sort by:
Dehn M.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/05/2021

WHM & Cpanel make navigating hosting solutions across different hosts a breeze

WHM (WebHost Manager) I have used since release and enjoy the UI for my own use at times, being more used to cPanel I can go either way. However for Clients, WHM is a stellar product and I enjoy it for that purpose every time I use it. cPanel is just ubiquitous to me when I consider hosting in general. Over the years I have had to use proprietary stuff from GoDaddy and many others but they were all CRAP. I would suggest against any option other than cPanel in any use short of huge Cloud accounts that need the specific build some Hosting requires. I have a Siteground account that is an indication of that, but short of anything below high dollar hosting I wouldnt work with a host that lacks cPanel functionality.

Pros

Generic in terms of branding, fully functional in that form. In other words, different hosts aren't compelled to change it and that makes working on clients sites easily with no learning curve to worry about

Cons

Occasionally doesn't allow for a feature but usually, that's the host. I really have no issue at all with Cpanel and have considered any hosting I was deciding on first based on cPanel. If they don't have it I will go to higher pricing first

Marcus P.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 08/12/2020

Excellent solution for hosting websites and emails

My overall experience has been very good, cPanel and WHM allow you to achieve all of your digital marketing needs and client-side requirements for hosting, web development and emails.

Pros

cPanel is a great product that makes it extremely easy to manage your own servers, DNS records as well as emails and clients websites. It is an all in one solution to managing both emails and websites as well as the technical aspects through a wonderful interface.

The WHM master control panel also makes it very easy to manage multiple cPanel accounts and functionalities. Furthermore, allowing you to create separate login details for each of your clients to access their own cPanel dashboard for management purposes

Cons

The biggest cons with regards to cPanel is that there exists no automatic backup functionality which is a very important feature, single-use licenses can also become extremely expensive. Lastly, the email interface options could also use more work and features to be included.

Jorge L.
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 22/09/2020

WHM & CPanel bring hosting management down to earth

When you offer so many features, you can always fail in the structure/organization of them, but WHM & Cpanel's menus are really clever and intuitive. You don't spend too much time finding what you're looking for and even have a search system to make this even better. It's really a world class product used by ginormous companies.

Pros

If i have to choose a simple phrase to describe them, it would be "feature rich". There's nothing you can't accomplish when it comes to managing hosting accounts, in large scale or individually, using these products. It's like a perfect couple that fulfill each other.

Cons

Particularly, the update/changelog notices/management can be better in order to be aware of what has exactly changed and prepare for it in advance.

Top cPanel & WHM Alternatives

Ahmed E.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 10/06/2021

Administrator Review

realy its a good experience with this software and i am still using it

Pros

its very east to install and use and contain all necessery hings to monotoring a server

Cons

Cpanel & WHM conatain a good UI for monotoring your server and more extensions

Alternatives Considered

Plesk
Verified Reviewer
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 07/04/2018

Although there is room for improvement this is by far the best hosting management software...

Pros

WHM and CPanel are very powerful and with them, it's possible to manage pretty much every aspect of a hosting server without being a systems administrator. There are a lot of extensions available, and as the user base is large it's possible to find solutions to issues online quite easily.

Cons

The interface can be confusing and the way that options are grouped does not always make a lot of sense. The documentation often assumes extensive knowledge of systems administration.

Robert R.
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/12/2019

Must Have

Used WHM over 10 years as an administrator for hundreds of clients and was very very happy with it till the pricing structure.

Pros

WHM is a must have for large hosting companies as it is very solid, updated quite often and has a very solid support system and quite innovative.

Cons

the price shot through the roof with the pricing change which will have hurt a lot of small hosting businsses as well as large enterprises.

Jacob F.
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/10/2018

WHM Review

Pros

We use it for our webhosting to allow the customers and developers to publish their websites. I haven't heard any complaints from them about its features or accessibility.

Cons

No complaints here, it seems to be an easy and straight forward webhosting tool. Something that is complex enough for the highly skilled and accessible enough for the beginners.

Akaki G.
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 30/04/2020

Comfortable Panel

My experience is only email administrator in the cpanel. I have 5 years experience.

Pros

I like Cpanel, Because it is easy and comfortable working space. I have three mail server and used Cpanel.

Cons

I have not problems and reasons. If I had problem, I don't used Cpanel. I am only email administrator and I have not problem.

Pradipta C.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/08/2018

Tools for every shared hosting company

Pros

Very easy to use tools for manage multiple shared hosting platform.Most useful tools for linux hosting is ready to use.Customer support is awesome.

Cons

Little bit costlier than other competition product.Few section is not well explained.More space is required for installation.

Ben M.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
2
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
2

2
Reviewed on 05/10/2019

Moved to Plesk as it provides better features and is better value for money

I have used WHM for an number of years, and am in the final stages of moving all of my sites that or on WHM based servers to plesk based ones - just because something is industry standard, does not mean that it is good or should continue being the defacto software that hosts use.

Pros

This is simple to implement and is a standardised piece of software that is regularly used on many hosts, so you know what you can do when logon to a new server - reducing developer / devops learning curve.

Cons

It's outdated, it isn't a pleasant UX, it feels like it is buggy, the only documentation isn't great and is community led so it feels like it is awkward or inaccurate. The update process always feels risky, and the methods of implemnting nginx just feel awkward.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/07/2021

Reliable and feature packed Website Hosting Management

Pros

It is a very reliable solution for web hosting management. It has helped me improve my productivity by simplifying everything in one place. With all the features that it packs, it has been made very easy for me to install websites, set up domains while also creating backups. The community and support is very helpful to learn and implement new features. In addition to being feature-packed it is a very reliable software, I have never experienced any crashes.

Cons

The learning curve was bit long for me to be able to optimally utilize the features.
The subscription price has increased considerably over the past year.
User interface can be improved.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 12/12/2018

WHM allows for custom hosting packages

Pros

I like that I can tailor hosting packages for my clients by a few clicks and some parameter fields. Then I can reuse those packages under one page where I can see all packages.

Cons

The web interface is older looking and not as friendly as modern-day websites. Some simply web design could really tie it all in.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 11/08/2021

My experience using cPanel & WHM

Wonderful

Pros

cPanel & WHM makes website hosting administration and management very easy

Cons

Deploying cPanel & WHM for the first time can be a challenge and time consuming

Tajammal H.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2018

WHM is a great solution for server administrators.

I got experience of how to control a web server.

Pros

WHM i.e. "Web Host Manager" provides administrative control of your dedicated server or VPS.
WHM is also a provides facility of reselling accounts and management. It allows the user to create and custom hosting plans and set different usage limits for every account.

Cons

create separate accounts
create custom hosting packages
add domains to the server
manage features of hosting packages and accounts
reset passwords/contact email addresses for cPanel accounts
edit Resource Limits for cPanel accounts
modify DNS zone records for each domain/subdomain
set up private nameservers on the server
access resold accounts without entering login details
perform basic system and control panel maintenance

Gourav K.
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
N/A

4
Reviewed on 22/08/2019

cPanel is better for general programming

Pros

It is best for beginners in programming. Low cost, easy to understand than Plesk.

Cons

It's very durable. No cons from my side.

Jess P.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 31/12/2019

WHM - The Best and Easiest Way to Manage A Server

Pros

WHM packaged with cpanel istheeasiest way to manage shared server space. I like WHM for it's simplicity and easy to navigate layout. It is packed with tons of features and offers a great global controls.

Cons

Some of the settings can be confusing and seem duplicated through different areas. You should really know what you are doing and backup before any changes you make to your server.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 09/11/2020

Powerful software

Very powerful software

Pros

I find the software very powerful and can do everything I usually need

Cons

I find it a bit tricky to figure out at first and seems to lag a tad

Verified Reviewer
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
2
Customer Support
N/A

3
Reviewed on 10/05/2018

Good way to manage a hosting machine

Pros

Has a ton of options and things to do, it enables us to really manage our webserver and debug issues. Since I'm mainly a front end developer, it was not that hard to work with.

Cons

Since it have so many features, they could improve the user interface. But, in terms of funcionality, can't really complain about it.

Matheus C.
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 08/08/2019

WHM - Sell your hosting plans

i've been using WHM over the last 4 years and im still amazed how good and efficient this tool really is.

Pros

So many features!
many of them come as plugin
u can customize almost everything
Build apache and php the way you want
cheap price for this kind of service
amazing support when you need it ( sometimes took 24 h to got an answer )

Cons

U need to fully understand the way WHM Works and how to deal with it.
SOmetimes u will need to contact their support
They are going to raise license price on 4 of september

Alternatives Considered

Plesk
Viktoria J.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 25/02/2021

The best webserver management solution available

We used WHM and cPanel to host and manage websites we own. It makes management a walk in the park, as its GUI is a great way to deal with actions that would otherwise require using terminal and typing in endless commands. This way you can deal with most issues using their built in tools and features.

Pros

cPanel has the most features among the webserver management solutions we have tried. Not only is it feature-packed, the features are also well made and useful. cPanel's best feature, though, is the ease of use. Setting up a domain, installing WordPress, and managing files, databases, permissions, and metrics has never been easier! I also love the Softaculous installer that is compatible with cPanel.

Cons

The pricing system changed recently, and it is not as affordable as it once was.

Corey K.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 05/03/2020

WHM is a very solid product

My experience with WHM (the product) has been very good. My experience with support has been very good. My experience with the new owners has been costly and nerve wracking.

Pros

WHM makes working with a server much easier due to having an interface for many common functions. This, in turn, saves a lot of time. Time is money, so...

Cons

WHM was recently acquired by some investment group and jacked the prices through the roof for a lot of people. Even for me, the rate increase amounts to $180 per year. For larger companies it was in the 10's of thousands of dollars and put some out of business. Not cool, and gives me a bad case of anxiety when I think about the future.

Chris B.
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 16/04/2019

I'd be lost without you WHM

running this software for twelves years over at my company, it makes every step of not only running your own website easy you can then make money selling sites and domains to others with as little as 20 us a month depending on the company you are with

Pros

We love all of it easy to use lots of self help doc and even pop up tips on damn near everything you have a question for. When that fail there tech support is by far the best i have dealt with in owning my company in the course of 16 years

Cons

Not a damn thing keep doing what you are doing team WHM!

Mohsin S.
  • Industry: Information Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 09/12/2019

Powerful control panel for Linux servers

WHM and cPanel has been amazing to work with. The users just get it because of their past experiences. For the IT administrator, that means less questions and less tickets sorting things manually for the users.

Pros

cPanel has a ton of features, it's great for hosting services for which it is designed, but is also great for managing corporate websites when you don't want to continue with your shared hosting and want to move without breaking things.

Cons

Some of the default setup isn't required. It would be great in the installation process if cPanel would ask the purpose of the setup, such as shared hosting or business hosting, and based on those, it would kind off recommend and optimise the installation.

Reji M.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 05/01/2020

Perfect Hosting Patner

superexcellent just only need to price reduce thats will be an amazing product

Pros

completely satisfied for overall performance, every section is perfect, so no need to worry, especially for new users

Cons

the recently made price hike its people dislike this product otherwise there is no issue in my view thanks

Sean K.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 27/03/2018

We use cpanel on multiple hosts for multiple uses

Pros

It takes the guess work out of running CLI commands. It does it all for you so you don't have to worry about making mistakes.

Cons

Pricing models are a bit steep especially for smaller businesses. We don't host other people's web apps or web sites, just our own and the pricing model should be able to reflect that.

104 reviews