User Reviews Overview

About cPanel & WHM

cPanel & WHM is a server management software that helps small and medium enterprises, developers, business leaders and partners manage websites and web servers. It enables teams to create domains, launch email networks and backup...

Learn more

Feature ratings

Value for Money
4.5
Features
4.5
Ease of Use
4.5
Customer Support
4

Browse cPanel & WHM Reviews

98 of 98 reviews
Sort by:
Wale A.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 15/04/2021

Best solution for web hosting management

I've been using cPanel/WHM for over a decade now and I honestly don't see myself switching to a different solution anytime soon.

Pros

Once set up properly, WHM makes web hosting management a piece of cake since most customers prefer cPanel anyway and are quite accustomed to it. Its ease of use makes it the number one choice. WHM puts every control into the user's hands, all with an intuitive GUI.

Cons

It's quite easy to use, but that doesn't mean setting it up is a walk in the park. Also, cPanel was expensive, and it got even more expensive with the recent hike in price.

Abhik B.
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/04/2021

cPanel is the most full featured web hosting control panel in the industry

My overall experience with cPanel is very good. Except for the high price, I like it a lot.

Pros

cPanel has all the features necessary to manage a web server for web hosting. Further, it allows fine-grained permission control for the users. The end-user interface is very intuitive and easy to use. File manager, autossl etc make things easy. Many free and paid plugins are available for automated script installation like WordPress, Drupal and so on.

Cons

cPanel is very expensive and the price is increasing day by day. They introduced per user license price quota, instead of per-server license pricing, one and half year ago. This made it very difficult for large organizations with many users to afford it.

Aris G.
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 15/01/2021

WHM for Best Server Management Experience

Hosting websites for customers and managing our VPS and Dedicated servers. We have secure and updated servers. Without cPanel & WHM we would have to manage most features with a Terminal.

Pros

EasyApache is the best software for me, because I can easily provision different extensions for different PHP versions and then select multiple versions of PHP for each domain. Then I like the fact that we can create feature lists and select which features a customer will have available for his cPanel. Each customer should have only the necessary features and access to different tools. Suspending accounts is really useful when customers don't pay their invoices for a long time and after many warnings. The best of all is the Security Center where I can configure everything, set security policies, Brute force protection and other restrictions. Basically I like that cPanel is always recommending the best and safest option for each feature there is available across cPanel & WHM.

Cons

We would prefer the old pricing which wasn't user based, but it's still affordable and very stable as a server software.

.kim M.
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 19/04/2019

WHM - The Best Software To Manage Hosting Accounts

Very good software, an ideal solution for small web design companies who might also want to start making money on hosting. The system is easy to learn, find features in it's documentation, and navigate through the organized administrative panel. Creating a new web hosting account for one of your new customers can be achieved in just minutes.

Pros

WHM (Web Host Manager) is the very best software to run a small web hosting business. The interface is very simple and easy to understand. The documentation is organized by category, making it easy to find the instructions on how to do any of it's many features. The most common function you will probably use is setting up a new hosting account for a new customer, which it's just a matter of a couple of clicks and then inputting a few form fields.

Cons

The system isn't the greatest for medium or larger web hosting companies unless you integrate a third party system like WHMCS. Smaller hosting or web design companies might also want to integrate third party backup solutions , because the backup of cPanel accounts is not as modern for ease of use as one might think. Otherwise, you have to go through each cPanel account, one by one, back them up, and then download the backup.

Alex T.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 28/02/2018

Managing hosting services with WHM has been excellent

Managing hundreds of sites is so much more convenient with everything under the same place. We get security, organization, and functionality with WHM.

Pros

WHM can be configured to fit your specific web hosting needs. I love being able to set up everything exactly the way I need it and if it isn't something provided within WHM natively, there are a multitude of plugins/extensions that can expand the functionality to meet your needs. This has been my favorite web hosting manager by far.

Cons

It can be a bit daunting to try and absorb all at once, especially if you aren't super familiar with web hosting to begin with. The documentation for this isn't the easiest to understand when it is talking about a feature you're new to, but the community and support for this is pretty extensive and is helpful.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 21/05/2019

Best in class for Linux hosting!

If you have a linux server and want to be a webhost, good or bad, you need this. If you want webhosting, you want a cPanel/WHM platform. Made right here in Houston, this is the industry standard.

Pros

WHM is the software you want if you are going to be a webhost. It lets you spawn your customer cPanels and control each element from your WHM console. Also, it is a GUI for many of the more painful points of server administration that would otherwise be handled on the command line.

Cons

It is pricey! Worth it, but pricey. Also, the WHM software does have some difficulty with functions and DNS records either showing as complete but not working, or records like that getting "stuck" somewhere in the server's DNS zone.

Also, management of a large number of cPanels can get daunting quick.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 13/08/2018

As far as I'm concerned, WHM Cpanel is the BEST solution for Server Hosting Management.

If you're running a web server, WHM is ten times better than the competition in my opinion...I've tried the others, and they just don't compare!

Pros

My server that I've had with my host company for well over 10 years now uses WHM/Cpanel. I love, love, love it. I've worked with other servers using other software, and by far, WHM is the easiest, most straightforward, and the most extensive. It's totally easy to find what you're looking for with the search box. WHM also integrates with many other pieces of server software making putting together a web server that can be managed simply a breeze.

Cons

I haven't really had any issues or cons that I've found with WHM.

Ruairi M.
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/09/2019

Great Reseller management tool

A great hosting tool that helps me daily with my web design business

Pros

A feature-rich piece of software for managing hosting reseller accounts and running multiple cPanels. I've used this from day one of my freelance web design career and have not been disappointed. WHM makes it a breeze to run and maintain multiple hosting accounts.

Cons

No issues, I've never had a crash with or needed to contact either WHM or my hosting providers support with any issues

Saminu E.
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 10/02/2021

This has been one of the best web hosting management systes

I will recommend this in a heartbeat, it is so much easier to learn and work with than other web hosting management software.

Pros

Everything about cPanel is so cool! Like I get so many apps like Softaculous and that helps when it comes to installing or setting up CMS software I am not really familiar with.

I also love the fact that I can set up email accounts directly and get set up instructions for my devices. cPanel is really one of the best!

Cons

I've been using cPanel for years and I still can't find anything wrong with it really. Talk about perfection, hehehe ­čśâ

Santiago B.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 30/11/2017

Great Hosting Control Panel, most used in web hosting companies

Pros

It is easy to use, easy to migrate web hosting account between servers. Makes very easy the life of a server admin. You can manage a server without being a server admin using WHMC/ CPANEL.

Cons

Don't allow to integrate different servers for email, they do that only for databases. Maybe is a little expensive for ones who only have to host one site. Others panel have licences with a lower price depending of the cuantity of website.

Oladipo O.
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 14/03/2021

Easy Website Management

Great experience using the application,i prefer to use than many other ones because of its flexibility

Pros

Makes website management and hosting easy for a beginner or person not IT savvy. It provides a better user interface for file management and also email functions.

Cons

The email capacity is smaller to have uses with heavy files or data. Then the security in place for email scams or theft is not robust

Juan martin C.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 03/08/2019

Best Hosting Panel

Great, been using it personally for more than 6 years, never let me down.

Pros

To make it short, is the best, safest, most complete and stable hosting panel availble. Price is reasonable and support is excellent.

Cons

Interface is still a bit "old", not working well on mobile browsers.

Ruby B.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 10/07/2018

Convenient

Pros

I love that we have all our sites in one place. It makes it easy to manage not just the sites, but also the space and backups.

Cons

It would be helpful to have videos or more helpful support documents to learn about the different areas of whm and what they do.

Mark N.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 04/08/2018

Great Control Panel

Pros

I've been using WHM for my hosting control panel now for over 4 years. Simple and intuitive to use gives admins and users the power to get stuff done!

Cons

Can be expensive for single site hosting.

Alejandro G.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
4
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
4

4
Reviewed on 19/02/2020

Good but could be better

In general is a good platform for small medium bussines, with a lot of chances to improve

Pros

Management interface looks light and simple, very intuitive, easy to provision services and monitor resources.

Cons

In terms of security and privacy there are some work to do, I don't like at all that the admin user has complete access to mailboxes of all users, this mean admin can read e-mails of all users and that is not a good practice at all.

Moaz T.
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 19/04/2019

Most widely used server management tool

Pros

WHM is a lifesaver for users who aren't comfortable with the command line. It offers a wide variety of server management services which helps you configure your server and save time.

Cons

It does the job perfectly, so why be a hater?

Davesh M.
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
N/A
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
N/A

5
Reviewed on 06/09/2018

Excellent Web Hosting Platform

Pros

Easy to use, well-documented, anyone can use WHM and cPanel to create a hosting platform

Cons

Tough to set up and optimize, requires some amount of computer networking and IT knowledge

Phillip J.
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4

5
Reviewed on 01/03/2019

Websites for the common man.

Pros

cPanel makes it super intuitive for those of us without a ton of website or programming knowledge to get things done and navigate our domains. Love how simple it is to manage all aspects of my site.

Cons

The customer service queue can take awhile depending on when you submit a query.

Verified Reviewer
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
3
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
1

3
Reviewed on 25/02/2019

Most ubiquitous server management solution

Pros

It is very easy to install and use especially for non tech-savvy user. Anyone buying a reseller account will probably expect WHM to be available.

Cons

Its very opinionated and makes major changes to the underlying OS which are very difficult to work around if you have a custom solution you want to implement. It solves a lot of problems but at the cost of being locked into the WHM way.

Josh C.
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
3
Features
5
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
3

4
Reviewed on 07/01/2021

Great product but bummed by the price hike.

Great product has all the features I need though just had a pricing structure increase.

Pros

Allows me to do everything I need to do with my hosting. I have played with plesk but I am more used to cpanel and WHM and know where everything is and there are so many features that allow me to resell hosting and make money from it! It is updated a lot which is great.

Cons

The main issue I had is this new pricing structure. It did increase my hosting bill quite a bit. Also every now and then I can't find something as there is soo much to it so I have to talk to my hosting company. So it can be a bit complicated until you learn it.

Daniel A.
  • Industry: Recreational Facilities & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
2
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

3
Reviewed on 06/09/2018

Everything for accommodation at your fingertips

It is very easy to use, it is not required to be an advanced user in web management. Its interface has all its identified applications and many have help menu.

The database is administered through the web interface, which means that advanced knowledge in the management of mysql is not required, one of the interesting functions is the mail, you can create email accounts with the domain of hosting, this It means that you can customize mail accounts according to the company or product.

File management can be managed through ftp which makes the transfer faster.

The platform has a lot of options that can be applied at the same time, I recommend it for small or medium companies that do not have a large IT department

Pros

Easy-to-use platform, which hosts several applications that do the work for the time to maintain and manage the hosting of your website, email accounts, database, php among others. It is an all in one for web hosting

Cons

One of the capabilities is more vulnerable to direct attacks, the location of all applications is on a single server, so it is easy to attack.

This security breach makes it vulnerable to other options, more difficult to use but more secure

Josip L.
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 29/09/2020

Run your own hosting business like a pro

WHM by cPanel is a must-have if you are running your hosting business. It seamlessly integrates with other services providing you with an extremely easy to use interface while also providing exceptional service to your clients.

Pros

With WHM it is so easy to create a new cPanel account for your customers. Just with the press of a few buttons, they get their username and password which is assigned to their purchased hosting package.
The best part is that this can also be automated so you won't be losing time to some boring tasks like clicking through cluttered UI.
WHM also allows you to monitor your whole server and see load and if there are some errors so you can quickly fix them.
There are lots of quick easy fix remediation available which is quite handy when you host a lot of websites and some go down because of misconfiguration error.
Taking backup of the whole server is no longer a tedious task. With just a few clicks you can take a backup or restore server or just client's websites to the previous state if something goes wrong.

Cons

There are no many cons with WHM. If you chose WHM you are good to go with your hosting business. You won't regret it.
But be prepared that it is not easy to setup. The average person could have some problems with the initial setup of WHM but once it is configured properly there should be no problems.
The only problems I experienced are AutoSSL which fails to provision SSL to domains who are pointing to Cloudflare or similar services.

Martin E.
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
4
Features
5
Ease of Use
3
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 11/09/2018

Makes web hosting management a breeze

I have set up WHM on several production servers, for various clients, some of whom had very little Linux experience, yet have still be able to use the software with very little support from myself. WHM does a great job of keeping itself up to date, and I have come to trust it and recommend it to my clients.

Pros

WHM removes many of the obstacles of running a hosting service, by providing all the functionality you need, without the requirement of understanding all the underlying technology. Users are able to concentrate on their business, rather than learning and maintaining all the processes behind the scenes.

Cons

There is a recurring monthly (or annual) fee, rather than a one-off payment. However in my experience this software has paid for itself many times over. Due to the nature of managing a complex system, sometimes problems do arise, however there is a wealth of information available on the web, and the support I have received has been very effective.

Ankit J.
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
4
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
3

5
Reviewed on 30/09/2018

Best tool to manage your reseller hosting account

Basically WHM is a super awesome umbrella account for multiple hosting in your reseller. Or maybe if you have multiple websites and you want to easily manage those.
Earlier before knowing about WHM, we used to keep a excel file for all cpanel access and its user name and passwords. Plus we had to buy each hosting account everytime when a client asked for.
Life is quite easy for me after knowing about WHM.

Pros

Extremely easy to understand terminologies.
Managing WHM is so easy, in terms of logging via cpanel and then any account in your reseller.
Website management becomes so easy. Otherwise earlier we used to manage each hosting one by one.

Cons

User Interface can be improved a lot.
It shows quite a many error and memory status while creating a new account.
More advanced options should be provided in WHM to manage clients panel and if options are to be shown or not.

Doug B.
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source
Value for Money
5
Features
5
Ease of Use
5
Customer Support
5

5
Reviewed on 01/08/2018

WHM is the definitive source for Apache web server access and maintenance.

Easy of management of the Apache Webserver

Pros

Easy of use, secure, patched & maintained are just a few words that sum up this software. Running a production level Apache Webserver without WHM is not something that anyone wants to do. It's graphical interface is intuitive and well documented.

Cons

Some areas that drive me craze about WHM is NOT being informed when updates are going to happen and the lake of a good, reliable mobile application.

98 reviews